Singapore Expats

Am I being cheated? Or . . . . .

Discuss about getting a well paid job or career advancement. Ask about salaries, expat packages, CPF & taxes for expatriate.
aftershocks

Am I being cheated? Or . . . . .

Post by aftershocks » Wed, 12 Mar 2008 7:50 pm

Hello all,

I'm an EPEC approved applicant.. I went for a job interview today and when they asked me for my expected salary, I put down $2700. This is because I have done research online and have found that for University grads that enter the work force in this line of work (Network Engineer) on average makes this much. When the employer saw the expected salary, they immediately told me that that amount is a lot... I told the HR lady who interview me that an Employment Pass requires at least $2500. I feel that I'm worth $2700 with my work experience.

She told me that I should fall under a S-Pass instead. I replied, "But I'm a University grad, I thought the S-Pass was more so geared towards College graduates whereas the Employment Pass is for University Graduates. It even states on my EPEC certificate that I'm eligible for my Employment Pass.." She responded, "Because you don't have enough experience yet.... I myself is a S-Pass holder" She's a foreigner also.

Am I overlooking something here? Should I fall under a S-Pass holder and not an Employment Pass? Or am I being cheated by this employer? Please let me know... I'm new to Singapore so I'm not quite sure.. I'm just going according to MOM's website...

Thanks!

sundaymorningstaple
Answers: 21

Re: Am I being cheated? Or . . . . .

Post by sundaymorningstaple » Wed, 12 Mar 2008 11:41 pm

aftershocks wrote:Hello all,