Singapore Expats Forum

Starhub installation

Discuss about computers & Internet. Including mobile phones, home appliances & other gadgets. Read about Windows security risks or virus updates.
User avatar
jezzman
Regular
Regular
Posts: 98
Joined: Thu, 01 Mar 2007
Location: Jurong West
Contact:

Starhub installation

Postby jezzman » Sun, 23 Dec 2007 12:42 am

Hey :wave:

I've been told that I can't order Starhub digital cable TV and internet before I arrive in Singapore, which has puzzled me a bit to say the least.

Anyways, we'll be arriving on the 29. January 2008 and if I order the installation the same day, does anyone know how fast Starhub proceeds the order? I'll be going for both cable, mobile and internet from them.

Another question. We're moving into a brand new apartment, so I was wondering if there any TV channels to watch, before we get the installation from Starhub done? Is there normal free to view channels in Singapore?

Please help me out here as I've got absolutely no idea. :)
Me, fail English?
But nooo, that's unpossible....

User avatar
sundaymorningstaple
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 35115
Joined: Thu, 11 Nov 2004
Location: Still Fishing!
Contact:

Postby sundaymorningstaple » Sun, 23 Dec 2007 12:05 pm

Yes there are 4 or 5 free to air but as you are in a brand new condo I don't know it they will have an old fashioned rooftop antenna as most older ones do. If so, you should have a standard antenna jack somewhere in your house but it's doubtful that they will run to all the rooms like most cable installations do today.

Taga-Bukid
Member
Member
Posts: 27
Joined: Thu, 04 Oct 2007

Re: Starhub installation

Postby Taga-Bukid » Sun, 23 Dec 2007 7:27 pm

I'm new to Singapore and when I signed up it took about 2 days to get Starhub to get the cable tv installed. I ordered the Hubstation and this had to be brought from wherever they had it hidden. If I wanted to just install the regular cable box, I could've walked off with a cable control box that evening. I was able to install the cable modem (handed to me) that evening and I also got my sim card that same evening.

Installations prior to arrival - my experience seems to indicate that they want to see your EP and/or passport during the application process. In the USA, you could call and have it setup prior to you getting to the house or apartment, except that you'll wait for the cable box as they cannot get into your place, but the cable will be on.

Good luck.

User avatar
jezzman
Regular
Regular
Posts: 98
Joined: Thu, 01 Mar 2007
Location: Jurong West
Contact:

Re: Starhub installation

Postby jezzman » Mon, 24 Dec 2007 4:05 am

Taga-Bukid wrote:I'm new to Singapore and when I signed up it took about 2 days to get Starhub to get the cable tv installed. I ordered the Hubstation and this had to be brought from wherever they had it hidden. If I wanted to just install the regular cable box, I could've walked off with a cable control box that evening. I was able to install the cable modem (handed to me) that evening and I also got my sim card that same evening.

Installations prior to arrival - my experience seems to indicate that they want to see your EP and/or passport during the application process. In the USA, you could call and have it setup prior to you getting to the house or apartment, except that you'll wait for the cable box as they cannot get into your place, but the cable will be on.

Good luck.


Thanks a lot for that, great news ! The ordering proces is the same here in Denmark as the one in the USA. Here it takes the company app. 14 days to get the box to the where we live, that's why I asked :)
Me, fail English?

But nooo, that's unpossible....

zjules
Regular
Regular
Posts: 125
Joined: Thu, 10 Aug 2006

Postby zjules » Thu, 27 Dec 2007 1:20 pm

Hey dont worry too much... youll be in a new country... go and have a look around, rather than watching tv :wink:

User avatar
ScoobyDoes
Manager
Manager
Posts: 1664
Joined: Wed, 29 Nov 2006
Location: A More Lucky Spot

Postby ScoobyDoes » Thu, 27 Dec 2007 1:26 pm

I spoke to the sales guy the evening i moved in and had both the internet and TV working the next day. I was busy unpacking that day anyway so didn't miss the TV.

As you're moving from overseas you don't even know what's on TV here so have no idea what you'll miss (or not miss) on that one night. Unpack and listen to the radio, no problem ;)

Scandinavia
Regular
Regular
Posts: 51
Joined: Sat, 08 Dec 2007
Location: Slingapore

I can see Denmark over the Oresund strait

Postby Scandinavia » Thu, 27 Dec 2007 9:35 pm

I can see Denmark over the Oresund strait where I live in Sweden....

Just a little thought?

Starhub provides installations in appartments where cable is present to my understanding.

If you would use the telephone line you would need another supplier to get ADSL? Singtel perhaps?

Maybee you had this one sorted out but I´m currently trying to find out what my appartment in Bukit Gombak will have available since it will decide what supplier I can have?
Last edited by Scandinavia on Fri, 28 Dec 2007 5:28 am, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
durain
Director
Director
Posts: 3666
Joined: Thu, 23 Aug 2007
Location: Location: Location: Location:

Postby durain » Fri, 28 Dec 2007 3:19 am

if the previous apartment has starhub, then it will be easy to get connected. starhub is a "cable only" connection and via the cable, you can get TV, broadband and telephone. you will need a VeCM (voice enable cable modem) to have the telephone. the freebie bog standard cable modem doesnt support the telephone so make sure you know what you want. the telephone is free till dec 2008. after that, no one knows...

Scandinavia
Regular
Regular
Posts: 51
Joined: Sat, 08 Dec 2007
Location: Slingapore

Postby Scandinavia » Fri, 28 Dec 2007 4:07 pm

durain wrote:if the previous apartment has starhub, then it will be easy to get connected. starhub is a "cable only" connection and via the cable, you can get TV, broadband and telephone. you will need a VeCM (voice enable cable modem) to have the telephone. the freebie bog standard cable modem doesnt support the telephone so make sure you know what you want. the telephone is free till dec 2008. after that, no one knows...


Hmm...

Would I get a modem with the starhub deal?

To the netgear/SKYPE phone I have read nothing about that it has a requirement on the modem to be a voice modem.

Best Regards

User avatar
durain
Director
Director
Posts: 3666
Joined: Thu, 23 Aug 2007
Location: Location: Location: Location:

Postby durain » Fri, 28 Dec 2007 7:04 pm

if you dont want the starhub freebie cable modem, you can upgrade it to the VeCM for about S$80. the VeCM is a router as well. that would give you a singapore landline number. for your skype router, you plug it into the VeCM. they will work independent of each other.

User avatar
08weixiang12
Member
Member
Posts: 47
Joined: Mon, 24 Dec 2007
Location: s0me WHERE faR fAr awAy fr0m +iz planet...

Postby 08weixiang12 » Fri, 28 Dec 2007 9:56 pm

u can also try the singtel 'MIO'..although i nev try it b4.but would b another option for u..

btw..durian..i c ur name everywhere!!!^^ :D
i'm tired of working...b0ring. . .

User avatar
durain
Director
Director
Posts: 3666
Joined: Thu, 23 Aug 2007
Location: Location: Location: Location:

Postby durain » Fri, 28 Dec 2007 10:17 pm

dont forget, if you are going with singtel for broadband/mio (ADSL), you will need to subscript to their telephone landline services too.

User avatar
08weixiang12
Member
Member
Posts: 47
Joined: Mon, 24 Dec 2007
Location: s0me WHERE faR fAr awAy fr0m +iz planet...

Postby 08weixiang12 » Fri, 28 Dec 2007 10:22 pm

realli ar?but he come sg sure nid home de phone number ma?dun nid meh?
i'm tired of working...b0ring. . .

User avatar
sundaymorningstaple
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 35115
Joined: Thu, 11 Nov 2004
Location: Still Fishing!
Contact:

Postby sundaymorningstaple » Fri, 28 Dec 2007 10:44 pm

08weixiang12 wrote:realli ar?but he come sg sure nid home de phone number ma?dun nid meh?


Could you please write in English. Otherwise nobody will ever reply to anything your write as nobody understands what you are writing. That's not even good Singlish or sms'ese. It's just plain garbage.

User avatar
08weixiang12
Member
Member
Posts: 47
Joined: Mon, 24 Dec 2007
Location: s0me WHERE faR fAr awAy fr0m +iz planet...

Postby 08weixiang12 » Fri, 28 Dec 2007 10:47 pm

sundaymorningstaple wrote:
08weixiang12 wrote:realli ar?but he come sg sure nid home de phone number ma?dun nid meh?


Could you please write in English. Otherwise nobody will ever reply to anything your write as nobody understands what you are writing. That's not even good Singlish or sms'ese. It's just plain garbage.


wth..you all really can't read the 'short-form'?..zzz
like that need type proper english very difficult for me..zzz :?
i'm tired of working...b0ring. . .


  • Similar Topics
    Replies
    Views
    Last post

Return to “Computer, Internet, Phone & Electronics”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest