Singapore Expats Forum

IPAQ 385- Pocket PC

Discuss about computers & Internet. Including mobile phones, home appliances & other gadgets. Read about Windows security risks or virus updates.
Computer
Member
Member
Posts: 21
Joined: Sat, 05 Aug 2006

IPAQ 385- Pocket PC

Postby Computer » Sun, 16 Sep 2007 1:21 pm

Hi,

May I know that what is mean by synch to PC ?
And why my IPAQ 3850 cannot synch with my PC ?
Is it mean that when plug into PC and can view the items at IPAQ 3850 file ? Thanks.

bigfilsing
Reporter
Reporter
Posts: 661
Joined: Wed, 04 Jan 2006

Postby bigfilsing » Mon, 17 Sep 2007 1:14 pm

sync is short for synchronising.

The main function is making sure your address book contacts and calender are the same on both your PC and your IPAQ.

Example. If you add an appointment on your IPAQ, the next time you connect it to your PC and sync it . It will add the same appointment to your PC ( in Microsoft Outlook)
Same goes for contacts.

Good luck

Computer
Member
Member
Posts: 21
Joined: Sat, 05 Aug 2006

Postby Computer » Mon, 17 Sep 2007 11:29 pm

bigfilsing wrote:sync is short for synchronising.

The main function is making sure your address book contacts and calender are the same on both your PC and your IPAQ.

Example. If you add an appointment on your IPAQ, the next time you connect it to your PC and sync it . It will add the same appointment to your PC ( in Microsoft Outlook)
Same goes for contacts.

Good luck


Hi,
Very thanks your for your clear reply.
So sorry that just want to ask you another questions is that, is it just like I can view the file from my PC that all the data or file or the storage card that inside the IPAQ ? Hope that you can understand.
Thanks.

bigfilsing
Reporter
Reporter
Posts: 661
Joined: Wed, 04 Jan 2006

Postby bigfilsing » Tue, 18 Sep 2007 9:44 am

Yes you can view files on the IPAQ from your PC.

Sync will synchronise contacts, calender, notes etc
Files on the IPAQ ( PDF's doc's etc) may need to be transfered to the PC first before viewing.

Good luck

Computer
Member
Member
Posts: 21
Joined: Sat, 05 Aug 2006

Postby Computer » Tue, 18 Sep 2007 6:22 pm

bigfilsing wrote:Yes you can view files on the IPAQ from your PC.

Sync will synchronise contacts, calender, notes etc
Files on the IPAQ ( PDF's doc's etc) may need to be transfered to the PC first before viewing.

Good luck



Hi,

Very thanks your for your reply again.
So is it when plug in computer,USB port just like Normal Mp3, will detect a removal drive ? And can view the file at IPAQ or the file at SD card ? Or different ? Thanks for your time for my questions.

bigfilsing
Reporter
Reporter
Posts: 661
Joined: Wed, 04 Jan 2006

Postby bigfilsing » Tue, 18 Sep 2007 9:01 pm

the last time i used an IPAQ was 3 years ago but i think the principle is the same.
If i remember rightly the IPAQ uses a version of windows ( mobile). So once you have installed the drivers ( from the IPAQ CD) it will appear as an external device with folders ( like windows)
You can then copy or move the contents to your PC or just view them from the folder ( as long as the IPAQ is still connected)

Computer
Member
Member
Posts: 21
Joined: Sat, 05 Aug 2006

Postby Computer » Tue, 18 Sep 2007 9:31 pm

bigfilsing wrote:the last time i used an IPAQ was 3 years ago but i think the principle is the same.
If i remember rightly the IPAQ uses a version of windows ( mobile). So once you have installed the drivers ( from the IPAQ CD) it will appear as an external device with folders ( like windows)
You can then copy or move the contents to your PC or just view them from the folder ( as long as the IPAQ is still connected)



Very thanks you for your reply and explain again.
I still dont understand. Anyway, never mind, already sold my IPAQ. Thanks for your helping. Thanks again.

User avatar
ksl
Governor
Governor
Posts: 6005
Joined: Mon, 19 Jul 2004
Location: Singapore
Contact:

Postby ksl » Wed, 19 Sep 2007 7:01 am

Computer wrote:
bigfilsing wrote:the last time i used an IPAQ was 3 years ago but i think the principle is the same.
If i remember rightly the IPAQ uses a version of windows ( mobile). So once you have installed the drivers ( from the IPAQ CD) it will appear as an external device with folders ( like windows)
You can then copy or move the contents to your PC or just view them from the folder ( as long as the IPAQ is still connected)



Very thanks you for your reply and explain again.
I still dont understand. Anyway, never mind, already sold my IPAQ. Thanks for your helping. Thanks again.


Basically bigfilsing is telling you, to put the ipaq CD software onto the computer (in the cd compartment and install) once the software is installed, you maybe told to reboot, or just plug in the Ipaq, to the USB connection, when the USB connection says found new hardware, and installs the driver, you can then connect computer and Ipaq by pressing synchronise!

If your computer cannot see the ipaq, it's probably because the drivers have not loaded correct, or you plugged in the ipaq before installing the sofware. Software first!

Computer
Member
Member
Posts: 21
Joined: Sat, 05 Aug 2006

Postby Computer » Wed, 19 Sep 2007 10:05 pm

ksl wrote:
Computer wrote:
bigfilsing wrote:the last time i used an IPAQ was 3 years ago but i think the principle is the same.
If i remember rightly the IPAQ uses a version of windows ( mobile). So once you have installed the drivers ( from the IPAQ CD) it will appear as an external device with folders ( like windows)
You can then copy or move the contents to your PC or just view them from the folder ( as long as the IPAQ is still connected)



Very thanks you for your reply and explain again.
I still dont understand. Anyway, never mind, already sold my IPAQ. Thanks for your helping. Thanks again.


Basically bigfilsing is telling you, to put the ipaq CD software onto the computer (in the cd compartment and install) once the software is installed, you maybe told to reboot, or just plug in the Ipaq, to the USB connection, when the USB connection says found new hardware, and installs the driver, you can then connect computer and Ipaq by pressing synchronise!

If your computer cannot see the ipaq, it's probably because the drivers have not loaded correct, or you plugged in the ipaq before installing the sofware. Software first!




Hi,

Very thanks you that all of your precisous time to reply my questions.
Thanks you again....also that who had answer my questions. Thanks again.


Return to “Computer, Internet, Phone & Electronics”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests