Singapore Expats Forum

My HP Laptop

Discuss about computers & Internet. Including mobile phones, home appliances & other gadgets. Read about Windows security risks or virus updates.
Abdul Ghani
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 1
Joined: Sun, 15 Oct 2006

My HP Laptop

Postby Abdul Ghani » Sun, 19 Aug 2007 4:37 pm

Anyone out there, pls help needed:

Lately, i've just bought a HP laptop running Window Vista. It seemd that the OS takes quite sometime to bootup. i.e. almost five to ten minutes. This really get up to my nerves. I really need to do work on my laptop. Hope for fast help and solutions please. :???:

luxiana
Regular
Regular
Posts: 137
Joined: Mon, 02 Jul 2007
Contact:

Postby luxiana » Mon, 20 Aug 2007 12:20 am

backup everything you have already saved on your local hard drive on an external drive.

have you tried to check for spywares and viruses?

"ad aware" and "Avast" can help you deal with both and they are free for personal use.

if you have already tried this, try to reboot the laptop using the cd or backup software that came with the laptop.

it should restore the original settings of the laptop.

now if it doesnt work any better: send it back to HP...
my website: free online game

User avatar
Plavt
Director
Director
Posts: 4290
Joined: Wed, 18 May 2005
Location: United Kingdom

Postby Plavt » Mon, 20 Aug 2007 1:01 am

HP's technical support should be able to sort that out..........well if you are lucky that is - based on my own experience. :(

bigfilsing
Reporter
Reporter
Posts: 661
Joined: Wed, 04 Jan 2006

Postby bigfilsing » Mon, 20 Aug 2007 10:37 am

You may also consider demanding that HP install XP instead of Vista.

We have just finished a company wide trial with 5 new laptops running Vista. We have now reverted back to XP. Vista has too much going on to be useful on a laptop.
Theres just too many bugs at the moment. No doubt they will al be sorted out eventually but at the moment its a waste of time

anitrak
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 4
Joined: Tue, 11 Sep 2007

Postby anitrak » Tue, 11 Sep 2007 8:18 pm

hi, check ur ram.. i was told that vista need min. 1gb to run. u may need to increase ur ram.. OR just run XP till vista is stable... unfortunately, now all new pc/laptop will only come with vista.

User avatar
ksl
Governor
Governor
Posts: 6005
Joined: Mon, 19 Jul 2004
Location: Singapore
Contact:

Postby ksl » Wed, 12 Sep 2007 5:32 am

anitrak wrote:hi, check ur ram.. i was told that vista need min. 1gb to run. u may need to increase ur ram.. OR just run XP till vista is stable... unfortunately, now all new pc/laptop will only come with vista.


1 Gb is not enough for Vista! 2Gb is minimum! and bigfilsing is right, too many bugs

User avatar
jpatokal
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 3014
Joined: Tue, 09 Dec 2003
Location: Terra Australis Incognita

Re: My HP Laptop

Postby jpatokal » Wed, 12 Sep 2007 10:50 pm

Abdul Ghani wrote:Lately, i've just bought a HP laptop running Window Vista. It seemd that the OS takes quite sometime to bootup. i.e. almost five to ten minutes. This really get up to my nerves. I really need to do work on my laptop. Hope for fast help and solutions please. :???:

Why are you booting your laptop so often? :o Use "suspend" or "hibernate", which wakes up in seconds.

And yeah, Vista is slow, but 1 GB is tolerable. (Not good, not fast, but tolerable.) Turning off the silly translucency crap helps.
Vaguely heretical thoughts on travel technology at Gyrovague


  • Similar Topics
    Replies
    Views
    Last post

Return to “Computer, Internet, Phone & Electronics”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests