Singapore Expats Forum

Broadband?

Discuss about computers & Internet. Including mobile phones, home appliances & other gadgets. Read about Windows security risks or virus updates.
User avatar
MblSH
Regular
Regular
Posts: 57
Joined: Sat, 14 Apr 2007
Location: Simei
Contact:

Postby MblSH » Mon, 30 Jul 2007 12:48 pm

SMS,

What would you like do download from Moscow anyway? :D

Jokes aside, I could never see my 12 mbit on any single speedtest server outside asia - I think the fastest I saw on US servers was around 4,5 mbit. But using multiple simultaneous connections to commercial servers (e.g. giganews.com for usenet binaries) I consistently max out my connection except for weekend evenings, when it stays at around 5 mbit

Max

User avatar
Dobski
Regular
Regular
Posts: 66
Joined: Sat, 16 Jun 2007
Location: Singapore

Postby Dobski » Mon, 30 Jul 2007 1:14 pm

bigF - I have hosted web space in the UK that I use for my site - far too difficult for me to work out how to run IIS at home without a static IP !!! - or maybe I'm just too lazy to find out :)
Modem is a Motorola Surfboard (SB) 6100.
No idea about a HTTP interface I'm afraid !
I plug it into the wall and that's about it - no config changes on the modem itself.

SMS - I'll give it a shot on some sites further afield and post the results.
I use my connection a lot for internet gaming, most of which is within Singapore, so It's not too much of an issue.
To be honest, Singapore's in a bit of a crappy geographical location for internet gaming. EU and US are simply too far away to avoid lag on many games - regardless of connection speed. We seem to have a fairly fast pipe to Japan, but my Japanese isn't up to much :D

Torrents use multiple peers, so international transfers of torrents isn't a problem.
I'd also bet that, if I tracert most of the IPs I'm leeching from, they're Singapore based anyways........

User avatar
Dobski
Regular
Regular
Posts: 66
Joined: Sat, 16 Jun 2007
Location: Singapore

Postby Dobski » Mon, 30 Jul 2007 11:22 pm

Here's a couple more - not quite sure what you're looking to prove SMS ?
That places further away will produce slower speeds ?

Image


Image

bigfilsing
Reporter
Reporter
Posts: 661
Joined: Wed, 04 Jan 2006

Postby bigfilsing » Tue, 31 Jul 2007 7:56 am

Dobski.. It might be time to look at linux` :D
While i use a windoze PC for daily stuff i'm running a linux server to mess around with other web stuff ( php, mysql etc ) All the software is free n legal. Ubuntu server ....apache2 web server.
I'm using a free account at www.no-ip.com . Works a treat.
also useful if you want to run vnc and access your home PC from outside.
all you have to remember is yourusername.no-ip.org

User avatar
Dobski
Regular
Regular
Posts: 66
Joined: Sat, 16 Jun 2007
Location: Singapore

Postby Dobski » Tue, 31 Jul 2007 10:55 am

:lol: I'd really be lost if I tried to run Linux !
Although there's no doubt about the reliability side - a couple of years ago one of the guys at work found a Linux box that had been up for over 4 years !!!!!
With Windows server, you're lucky to get 4 weeks :roll:

I do run the Windows version of VNC when my dad needs help on his PC.
If I wanted to remotely admin my own Linux server, I'd probably only do it from work - where the company firewall would probably cause a few problems.

User avatar
MblSH
Regular
Regular
Posts: 57
Joined: Sat, 14 Apr 2007
Location: Simei
Contact:

Postby MblSH » Tue, 31 Jul 2007 12:19 pm

[quote="bigfilsing"]
I'm using a free account at www.no-ip.com . Works a treat.
also useful if you want to run vnc and access your home PC from outside.
all you have to remember is yourusername.no-ip.org[/quote]

Does it work for you with Starhub or are you at Singtel? I'm on Starhub and Dyndns doesn't work for me anymore

User avatar
sundaymorningstaple
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 35114
Joined: Thu, 11 Nov 2004
Location: Still Fishing!
Contact:

Postby sundaymorningstaple » Tue, 31 Jul 2007 1:58 pm

Dobski wrote:Here's a couple more - not quite sure what you're looking to prove SMS ?
That places further away will produce slower speeds ?


Not trying to prove anything at all. Just making the point that the ultra-high download speeds will only work primarily on the sites located on the Singapore Backbone. Anything outside of Singapore will be limited by the congestion on the international pipes, Server upload speeds, reroutes and so forth. If you mostly use local gaming sites that are located within Singapore then it makes sense. It also makes sense if you have 3 or 4 simultaneous users in your house like I do (all using a share of the incoming width). However, the majority of surfers in Singapore do not surf local sites so therefore if you are paying for the speed you are just giving your ISP money for nothing. They have no control until the data reaches these shores.

User avatar
Dobski
Regular
Regular
Posts: 66
Joined: Sat, 16 Jun 2007
Location: Singapore

Postby Dobski » Tue, 31 Jul 2007 4:10 pm

SMS - yup, yup and yup :D

We have a wireless Skype phone, wireless laptop, wireless PS3, wired desktop and wired xbox - sometimes 4 out of 5 are running at full whack at the same time !

I really hope they don't discover that wireless networks are harmful in years to come :lol:

bigfilsing
Reporter
Reporter
Posts: 661
Joined: Wed, 04 Jan 2006

Postby bigfilsing » Tue, 31 Jul 2007 9:30 pm

MblSH wrote:
bigfilsing wrote:I'm using a free account at www.no-ip.com . Works a treat.
also useful if you want to run vnc and access your home PC from outside.
all you have to remember is yourusername.no-ip.org


Does it work for you with Starhub or are you at Singtel? I'm on Starhub and Dyndns doesn't work for me anymore


i'm really not sure about the star hub situ ...never tried to be honest. looks like i'll need to help a mate out soon with his starhub connection si i'll report back.
You might want to wander over to http://www.hardwarezone.com/home/
lot of good guys on the forums there.
Good luck

bigfilsing
Reporter
Reporter
Posts: 661
Joined: Wed, 04 Jan 2006

Postby bigfilsing » Tue, 31 Jul 2007 9:35 pm

Dobski wrote::lol: I'd really be lost if I tried to run Linux !
Although there's no doubt about the reliability side - a couple of years ago one of the guys at work found a Linux box that had been up for over 4 years !!!!!
With Windows server, you're lucky to get 4 weeks :roll:

I do run the Windows version of VNC when my dad needs help on his PC.
If I wanted to remotely admin my own Linux server, I'd probably only do it from work - where the company firewall would probably cause a few problems.


Yes had the work thing too . But with linux webmin ( a remote server manager ) it couldn't be easier. Really easy .
Manage the whole server through a web interface, and i mean the whole thing , html, email, mysql,php, webmail, apache2,

good luck

blue33
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 2
Joined: Tue, 07 Aug 2007

Postby blue33 » Tue, 07 Aug 2007 4:22 pm

you can buy the starhub cable modem at 99 bucks with 60 days of internet access for testing before you sign up.. or carry on with hourly or daily access..

blue33
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 2
Joined: Tue, 07 Aug 2007

Postby blue33 » Tue, 07 Aug 2007 4:36 pm

MblSH wrote:
bigfilsing wrote:I'm using a free account at www.no-ip.com . Works a treat.
also useful if you want to run vnc and access your home PC from outside.
all you have to remember is yourusername.no-ip.org


Does it work for you with Starhub or are you at Singtel? I'm on Starhub and Dyndns doesn't work for me anymore

i don't think it matters if you are on starhub or singtel.. problem most likely would be your router configuration.

User avatar
MblSH
Regular
Regular
Posts: 57
Joined: Sat, 14 Apr 2007
Location: Simei
Contact:

Postby MblSH » Tue, 07 Aug 2007 6:50 pm

blue33 wrote:i don't think it matters if you are on starhub or singtel.. problem most likely would be your router configuration.


I don't have one; I run a cable straight from nic to modem. My guess is that it actually stopped working after starhub rolled out that 100mbit service, together with some kind of caching/nat, and I'm now on internal network with no way to see me from outside

User avatar
ianlaird
Member
Member
Posts: 47
Joined: Wed, 16 May 2007
Location: Singapore, Orchard Road
Contact:

Postby ianlaird » Mon, 13 Aug 2007 4:41 pm

DO YOU EVER LEAVE THE HOUSE???

Get to the pub mate!!

Dobski wrote:SMS - yup, yup and yup :D

We have a wireless Skype phone, wireless laptop, wireless PS3, wired desktop and wired xbox - sometimes 4 out of 5 are running at full whack at the same time !

I really hope they don't discover that wireless networks are harmful in years to come :lol:

User avatar
Dobski
Regular
Regular
Posts: 66
Joined: Sat, 16 Jun 2007
Location: Singapore

Postby Dobski » Tue, 14 Aug 2007 1:06 pm

hehehe - I do manage to make time for a life as well Ian.


  • Similar Topics
    Replies
    Views
    Last post

Return to “Computer, Internet, Phone & Electronics”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest