Singapore Expats Forum

Apple Airport Extreme, using w/ Starhub...?

Discuss about computers & Internet. Including mobile phones, home appliances & other gadgets. Read about Windows security risks or virus updates.
chicagoans
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 8
Joined: Sun, 07 Jan 2007

Apple Airport Extreme, using w/ Starhub...?

Postby chicagoans » Sat, 28 Apr 2007 3:22 pm

I am having trouble using my new Apple Airport Extreme w/ my Starhub
Online service, is anyone using this and do you have it working?

User avatar
Plavt
Director
Director
Posts: 4291
Joined: Wed, 18 May 2005
Location: United Kingdom

Postby Plavt » Sat, 28 Apr 2007 4:41 pm

Need more information; what exacty is the problem? I might be able to help as I had difficulty getting my airport extreme to work - even worse Apple's technicians hadn't been trained to configure it! :o

What sort of modem/router are you using?

chicagoans
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 8
Joined: Sun, 07 Jan 2007

Hardware

Postby chicagoans » Sat, 28 Apr 2007 7:25 pm

I am using the new Airport Extreme, the Starhub Cable modem is a Motorola SURFboard Voip Cable Modem. The Apple technician was of very little help.

The computer recognizes the router, however when Safari tries to load it says not connected to the internet. I went through all the Network Diagnostics etc and nothing.

User avatar
Plavt
Director
Director
Posts: 4291
Joined: Wed, 18 May 2005
Location: United Kingdom

Postby Plavt » Sat, 28 Apr 2007 7:36 pm

Your problem is your router (I take it you are using a wireless network). Basically what is happening is your wirless facility is being provided before the signal reaches the airport extreme. You therefore need and ordinary modem (not usb they don't work with Macs). The Xmodem is a good choice but make sure you configure it before plugging in the airport extreme, hopefully this should not take more than about ten minutes.

I had the same experience as yourself and found even the specially allocated technician who took an hour and half and couldn't do it. The issue was resolved when the Xmodem vendors purchased an airport extreme and were able to configure it straight away - it was them who told me the above (configure modem first).

Hope this helps and you are relieved of your 'headache'.

chicagoans
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 8
Joined: Sun, 07 Jan 2007

Xmodem purchase

Postby chicagoans » Sat, 28 Apr 2007 8:12 pm

Can you recommend a place to purchase a Xmodem here in Singapore??

User avatar
Plavt
Director
Director
Posts: 4291
Joined: Wed, 18 May 2005
Location: United Kingdom

Re: Xmodem purchase

Postby Plavt » Sat, 28 Apr 2007 8:53 pm

chicagoans wrote:Can you recommend a place to purchase a Xmodem here in Singapore??


I can't recommend but have a look through the following and make a few phone calls first is the best advice, failing that you should be able to order one from Apple's website.

http://www.asia.apple.com/store/

Then use find local reseller (direct link on forum won't work for some reason).

For some reason I don't see one available on Apple's website in Singapore but you may find some of the retail staff who have several years experience more knowledgeable than the technicians, at least that is what I have found in the UK.

User avatar
Plavt
Director
Director
Posts: 4291
Joined: Wed, 18 May 2005
Location: United Kingdom

Postby Plavt » Sat, 28 Apr 2007 9:08 pm

Failing the above try this, you want the M-3;

http://www.adslnation.com/products/index.php

(company is in UK)


  • Similar Topics
    Replies
    Views
    Last post

Return to “Computer, Internet, Phone & Electronics”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests