Singapore Expats Forum

window vista~~~~~

Discuss about computers & Internet. Including mobile phones, home appliances & other gadgets. Read about Windows security risks or virus updates.
User avatar
belle1980
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 15
Joined: Sun, 22 Oct 2006
Location: singapore

window vista~~~~~

Postby belle1980 » Tue, 03 Apr 2007 11:37 pm

how is window vista ?

i want to change windows XP to vista, only have 128 can change?
Just one moment can change everything!!!

User avatar
Asian_Geekette
Reporter
Reporter
Posts: 558
Joined: Wed, 10 Jan 2007
Location: Still based in Singapore but wanders around...

Re: window vista~~~~~

Postby Asian_Geekette » Wed, 04 Apr 2007 12:11 am

belle1980 wrote:how is window vista ?

i want to change windows XP to vista, only have 128 can change?


Belle,

Try running the Windows Vista Upgrade Advisor. Here's the link:
http://www.microsoft.com/windows/produc ... visor.mspx

Good luck!
My business is not to remake myself, but make the absolute best out of what God made. -Robert Browning

User avatar
Splatted
Reporter
Reporter
Posts: 892
Joined: Sun, 11 Jul 2004

Re: window vista~~~~~

Postby Splatted » Wed, 04 Apr 2007 12:51 pm

belle1980 wrote:how is window vista ?

i want to change windows XP to vista, only have 128 can change?


the minimum you need is 512Mb ram, I've been told, but for all the features to actually work properly (ie not slow), you might need twice that.

I'm yet to try it - got the disks. don't try burning copywrite stuff once you install it though.

also, if you are upgrading, apparently I'm also told that the key for your previous window's version , ie XP gets cancelled. Haven't tried it first-hand to tell you if this is true.

Eva Happy
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 6
Joined: Mon, 19 Mar 2007
Location: Siglap Rd.

Postby Eva Happy » Tue, 24 Apr 2007 7:31 pm

not don't change to vista yet. it has bugs and all. :wink:

User avatar
Plavt
Director
Director
Posts: 4290
Joined: Wed, 18 May 2005
Location: United Kingdom

Postby Plavt » Tue, 24 Apr 2007 7:57 pm

Eva Happy wrote:not don't change to vista yet. it has bugs and all. :wink:


This is a valid point, windows XP is more tried and tested plus the possibility hackers are more likely to 'test' its vulnerability.

User avatar
ScoobyDoes
Manager
Manager
Posts: 1664
Joined: Wed, 29 Nov 2006
Location: A More Lucky Spot

Postby ScoobyDoes » Fri, 27 Apr 2007 12:45 pm

The security guard at my condo complex asked me for help because everytime he went to start his new laptop with vista it would only start in Safe Mode.

Aparantly he did the stupid thing first and did a Windows Update.

User avatar
guruvishwanath
Chatter
Chatter
Posts: 227
Joined: Wed, 03 Aug 2005
Location: Braddell
Contact:

Postby guruvishwanath » Fri, 27 Apr 2007 1:23 pm

First! NEVER EVER believe the so called 'minimum requirement' specs given. Basically, it means 'this car will run like a bullock cart but it will take you from point A to B'. I know! Working in high tech for 15 years does that to do.

You want to upgrade to Vista ensure its at least 1GB DDRx RAM (2 is better) on a DUAL CORE Intel CPU. And ensure you have at least 256MB of Graphics Card RAM. Oh! And best to have a sleek flat panel monitor that can support high resolution rates. If not, you will use Vista but it will be like trying to make the cart and the buffalo move. :P :shock: :???: :o :D


  • Similar Topics
    Replies
    Views
    Last post

Return to “Computer, Internet, Phone & Electronics”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests