Singapore Expats

Relocating to Melbourne - need good advice?

Moving to Singapore? Ask our regular expats in Singapore questions on relocation and their experience here. Ask about banking, employment pass, insurance, visa, work permit, citizenship or immigration issues.

Sponsored by:

Utrust Immigration
zeze

Relocating to Melbourne - need good advice?

Post by zeze » Tue, 02 Jan 2007 11:27 am

I am a Singaporean Registered Nurse relocating to Melbourne with my family, entering on temporary bussiness visa (between 12-24 months). We would like to know more about the cost of living, accomodation and child's education in Australia.

My husband and I are in our 30s and our daughter turned 4 last Oct. I am currently awaiting the outcomes of 2 job offers - one in a hospital in Caulfield, and the other in Hampton?

Considering both offers are equally good, which would be a better suburb to move to? We've asked 2 friends who've stayed in Mel before and one preferred Hampton, while the other is indifferent. Also, should we start looking for rentals here or only when we arrive? How much and what are the essentials should we bring along? What's the cheapest way to get our things over (don't think we're planning to bring our furniture along. Just lots of books and maybe some household items - crockery, utensils - and small electrical appliances if they are adaptable there).

Appreciate any good advice/tips since we've never ever been to Australia, or lived outside Singapore.
"The problem is not that there are problems. The problem is expecting otherwise and thinking that having problems is a problem." ~ Theodore Rubin

jpatokal

Post by jpatokal » Tue, 02 Jan 2007 7:03 pm

I think you'll have better luck asking on an Oz expats forum, like this:

http://www.expatsaustralia.com/
Vaguely heretical thoughts on travel technology at Gyrovague

Aussieboy

Post by Aussieboy » Wed, 03 Jan 2007 6:24 am