Singapore Expats Forum

Timing out!

Discuss about the latest news & interesting topics, real life experience or other out of topic discussions with locals & expatriates in Singapore.

User avatar
ksl
Governor
Governor
Posts: 6005
Joined: Mon, 19 Jul 2004
Location: Singapore
Contact:

Timing out!

Postby ksl » Tue, 26 Sep 2006 1:52 pm

If you ever watched the MPEG of the guy smashing his computer, thats how i feel just now!

I was replying to a post, when the telephone rang, the person asked me to check my mail, because they wanted a reply asp, I said i want to finish what I'm doing, writing this post to the forum. It can wait they said. I typed for i don't know how long, and my typing skills are not very fast.

By the time i read the mail an advertisement, put the phone down, and press submit to the form, I'd lost my work, and I fell for it twice in a row!

Can't admin do anything about the time out issue, where it logs off the forum after a period of time? or inform us how long can one write, before the log off, jumps in automatically

User avatar
DimWit Kid
Chatter
Chatter
Posts: 276
Joined: Thu, 14 Apr 2005

Postby DimWit Kid » Tue, 26 Sep 2006 2:06 pm

Huh?? I never got timed out even if I let it open for like 3-4 hrs...

User avatar
marj_kee
Chatter
Chatter
Posts: 160
Joined: Thu, 17 Nov 2005
Location: Singapore
Contact:

Postby marj_kee » Tue, 26 Sep 2006 3:13 pm

I got it before and its REALLY frustrating.

User avatar
sundaymorningstaple
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 35168
Joined: Thu, 11 Nov 2004
Location: Still Fishing!
Contact:

Postby sundaymorningstaple » Tue, 26 Sep 2006 4:20 pm

I've never had a timeout problem either. check your internet settings and possibly see if you isp is timing you out. Do you have a firewall? that may also be the culprit.

As a matter of habit, if I know I'm going to do a large post I always keep notepad open and do it there then copy/paste and add whatever BB code and whathaveyou then.

User avatar
Plavt
Director
Director
Posts: 4292
Joined: Wed, 18 May 2005
Location: United Kingdom

Postby Plavt » Tue, 26 Sep 2006 4:26 pm

Ksl,
I think you may find it is the settings in your router, I had the same problem.
Apparently some countries still charge for the time you are actually on the Internet (with broadband - Germany being one or was) so the vendors set them that way.

Just call the modem vendor's technical support (assuming you have broadband) the will tell you how to reset it and as Sms says a firewall can sometimes be a nuisance.


Plavt.

User avatar
ksl
Governor
Governor
Posts: 6005
Joined: Mon, 19 Jul 2004
Location: Singapore
Contact:

Postby ksl » Wed, 27 Sep 2006 9:43 pm

Plavt wrote:Ksl,
I think you may find it is the settings in your router, I had the same problem.
Apparently some countries still charge for the time you are actually on the Internet (with broadband - Germany being one or was) so the vendors set them that way.

Just call the modem vendor's technical support (assuming you have broadband) the will tell you how to reset it and as Sms says a firewall can sometimes be a nuisance.


Plavt.


Everyone thanks!

My settings are ok, and Singtel engineers have been to test the adsl line, which is also ok, but they can see I cannot get my webmail from USA, because of the time out, problem.

We did a ping and a trace, and could see the ping dropped a packet, the trace seems ok, so they also think it may be the modem is playing up. Never used to, quite annoying, but thanks anyway!


  • Similar Topics
    Replies
    Views
    Last post

Return to “General Discussions”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests