Singapore Expats Forum

Bring computer? -OR- Buy a new one?

Discuss about computers & Internet. Including mobile phones, home appliances & other gadgets. Read about Windows security risks or virus updates.
cosmokick
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 6
Joined: Tue, 27 Jun 2006

Bring computer? -OR- Buy a new one?

Postby cosmokick » Thu, 10 Aug 2006 2:45 am

Hi,

I'm moving from New York in a few weeks..

I have a Mac desktop that is less than a year old.. works really well for my needs..

Anyway, will I have to pay some sort of tax if I bring it? Also, what compatibility issues might I face, in terms of power useage, etc.??

Thanks so much. On my budget, I really don't want to have to buy a new machine..

-ck

User avatar
Strong Eagle
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 11060
Joined: Sat, 10 Jul 2004
Location: Off The Red Dot
Contact:

Postby Strong Eagle » Thu, 10 Aug 2006 6:16 am

How are you going to get your computer over here? Shipping costs a lot.

cosmokick
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 6
Joined: Tue, 27 Jun 2006

Postby cosmokick » Thu, 10 Aug 2006 7:22 am

Sorry, going to pack it carefully - wrapped in bubble wrap, with my clothes.. in my suitcase..

It's an I-Mac where the drive etc. are IN the monitor.. so it's just that and the keyboard. I've tried it out. It'll work.

khigia
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 12
Joined: Fri, 04 Aug 2006
Location: Tg Pagar Plaza

Postby khigia » Thu, 10 Aug 2006 7:38 am

I don't see any problem of compatibility. Perhaps you'll just have to buy a power cable here.
If you can put your suitcase in the cabin, it should be ok.
And welcome in singapore!

User avatar
Bremen
Reporter
Reporter
Posts: 748
Joined: Wed, 24 Aug 2005
Location: Island of Red Mud

Postby Bremen » Fri, 11 Aug 2006 12:40 am

back up your data first. The way suitcases can get tossed around and put underneath 5-6 other ones at the airport.... Well, better safe than sorry.
"Build a man a fire, and he'll be warm for a day. Set a man on fire, and he'll be warm for the rest of his life."
- Terry Pratchett

hanriktan
Member
Member
Posts: 28
Joined: Wed, 01 Mar 2006

Postby hanriktan » Fri, 11 Aug 2006 8:49 am

please check if you mac is on 110 or 220 Volts. Singapore is using 220 V here... but if your system is a 110V i advise you to buy a transformer here to do a step down...

User avatar
jpatokal
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 3014
Joined: Tue, 09 Dec 2003
Location: Terra Australis Incognita

Postby jpatokal » Fri, 11 Aug 2006 1:56 pm

hanriktan wrote:please check if you mac is on 110 or 220 Volts. Singapore is using 220 V here... but if your system is a 110V i advise you to buy a transformer here to do a step down...

Most modern PCs have a toggle in the back to switch, or they may even accept both right off the bat. Check the plug for the power cable, does it say something like "100-220V" nearby?
Vaguely heretical thoughts on travel technology at Gyrovague


  • Similar Topics
    Replies
    Views
    Last post

Return to “Computer, Internet, Phone & Electronics”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests