Singapore Expats Forum

CANADIAN LOOKING FOR WORK IN SINGAPORE

Discuss about getting a well paid job or career advancement. Ask about salaries, expat packages, CPF & taxes for expatriate.

Benjaminzinger

CANADIAN LOOKING FOR WORK IN SINGAPORE

Postby Benjaminzinger » Mon, 31 Jul 2006 10:46 am

Hello everyone. I am wondering where the best place is to start looking for a job in Singapore from abroad. I am Canadian citizen with a honours undergrad business admin degree [2002]. I have posted my resume on many sites, both job sites and sent it directly to companies as well with no responses. Anyone have any tips? I would also like to get a feel for the white collar 'normal' working conditions if possible. Anything and everything is greatly appreciated. I currently work as a consultant for a financial software company, and have 4 years work experience.

Many many thanks for your precious time...
-Zinger

sundaymorningstaple

Postby sundaymorningstaple » Mon, 31 Jul 2006 11:39 am

Guess the first question that would arise is what revelancy has your 4 years of work experience to your degree if any? If not actually directly relevant, then your odds of getting a job here are slim at best. What degree do you actually posess? B.BA or A.BA? A Batchlors with not much track record will be difficult to place as they are a dime a dozen here and will work for around 2.3K/mo SGD without perks. Now if you have a MBA you will have a better chance if it is from a good business school.

Good luck with your search.

chixchix
Editor
Editor

Postby chixchix » Mon, 31 Jul 2006 1:01 pm

hey ben you might want to try e-mailing your resume to my friend,who is a Recruitment Consultant.

The e-mail is karenlim@aji.com.sg you might want to tell her that Pam referred you ... cheers.. good luck.. :P

sundaymorningstaple

Postby sundaymorningstaple » Mon, 31 Jul 2006 1:49 pm

chixchix wrote:hey ben you might want to try e-mailing your resume to my friend,who is a Recruitment Consultant.