Singapore Expats

Cheap alcohol?

Discuss about food, eating places, shopping centres, clubs, pubs, massage, sports, travel & holidays. Share tips on best place to chill, party, relax or travel destinations.
Linus

Cheap alcohol?

Post by Linus » Thu, 05 Aug 2004 9:17 pm

Where is the absolut cheapest place in Singapore to get alcohol? I am a student so I need cheep supply of our main source of nutrition. :D
25 year old male exchange student at NUS from Sweden.

sai

Post by sai » Thu, 05 Aug 2004 9:41 pm

totally. breakfast of champs!!!! where can one find it?

Bafana

Post by Bafana » Thu, 05 Aug 2004 10:35 pm

The cheapest place is to go to a super market and drink at home or where ever u want...

Another alternative is kinda cool in that you have food on hand - Thats the Hawker Centres.

If you want cheap grog don't go to nightclubs or bars - Sounds weird don't it but its singapore :wink:

Also I ahve found that a ferry to Batam, Bintan or a car ride to JB will also cut the cot of drinking - In fact the money saved on booze for a big session would pay for the ferry ticket and hotel.

jpatokal

Post by jpatokal » Mon, 09 Aug 2004 5:00 pm

Do note that you're not allowed to bring back any tax-free goods (including alcohol) from Malaysia without declaring it and paying duty... Indonesia is OK, but does the US$10 visa fee apply to Swedes also?

Linus

Post by Linus » Tue, 10 Aug 2004 1:09 am

No it doesn't unfortunately :(

We have to apply for a visa beforehand and I think it's because of the armed rebellions in the Aceh province. The leaders of those rebellions are apparently living in Sweden and our government doesn't want to extradite them to Indonesia.

ChaCha

Post by ChaCha » Fri, 13 Aug 2004 1:28 pm

1 night a month (Wed or Thu) Insomnia does a SGD20 drink as much as you can for 2 hours. I can't recall any more details though.
Anyone else to assist in further information

Linus

Post by Linus » Fri, 13 Aug 2004 10:11 pm