Singapore Expats Forum

Engineering Jobs in Singapore?

Discuss about getting a well paid job or career advancement. Ask about salaries, expat packages, CPF & taxes for expatriate.

Stoven

Engineering Jobs in Singapore?

Postby Stoven » Mon, 05 Jun 2006 10:01 am

I am currently working in the U.S. but my wife is Singaporean. I was thinking of moving to Singapore to work so she can be closer to her family and friends.

Right now I work as a Design Engineer for a consumer products company in the U.S. and realize that there aren't many engineering positions in Singapore. Since I do have experience working with factories in China and Taiwan the ideal job would be a position based in Singapore with travel to China.

I have looked at some job postings and they tend to be more than 50% less than what I am currently making. I am willing to take somewhat of a pay cut for the work experience and my Wife's happiness.

Would I have any issues with getting PR? I looked at some of the applications and they all said "wife" instead of "spouse" which makes it sound like only wives of citizens can get PR and not husbands. Is it best to get PR before applying for jobs?

Also, how would I go about finding a job? I'm told there is a strong stereotype that westerners are lazy. Would that make it more difficult? I am relatively new in my career and have only been working for a few years. Would this also be an issue? I do have both a Masters and Bachelors degree in Mechanical Engineering, basic understanding of Mandarin(taken classes in college), and am half Japanese/half Caucasian(possibly adjust quickly to the culture/environment).

Any information would be helpful. I've been to Singapore three times and have never been able to handle the heat and humidity. Is it that difficult to adjust?

Thanks,

Steve

ProvenPracticaFlexible

Re: Engineering Jobs in Singapore?

Postby ProvenPracticaFlexible » Mon, 05 Jun 2006 5:41 pm