Singapore Expats Forum

About CPF

Discuss about getting a well paid job or career advancement. Ask about salaries, expat packages, CPF & taxes for expatriate.

Bluee

About CPF

Postby Bluee » Mon, 22 May 2006 1:20 pm

I received an offer letter from a Singapore company and according to of of the clause as follow:

7.5 - Central Provident Fund contributions will be made on your behalf by deducting from your monthly salary the proportionate share of your liability to such contributions which are in force from time to time.

My question was, I am not a PR and this is my first time working in Singapore. Understood that I am exempted from CPF contribution if I'm a foreign worker, assuming I'm having a work permit or S pass.

But when I asked the HR, she told me that there's a little amount of CPF contribution will deduct from my monthly salary.

Wondering, am I suppose to pay for CPF? If not why she said so?

Thanks in advance.

guruvishwanath
Chatter
Chatter

Postby guruvishwanath » Mon, 22 May 2006 4:01 pm

There have been some changes in the law. By rights, if you are a EP holder, you dont have to contribute. Best is to call Immigration or Ministray of Manpower. They can guide you better.

Bafana

Postby Bafana » Mon, 22 May 2006 4:03 pm

If your not a citizen or a PR you do not have to pay CPF.

My advise is to call MOM or ICA (in Victoria St) and ask them.

It looks like your new company is trying to rip you off.
Be Like Water

sundaymorningstaple

Postby sundaymorningstaple » Mon, 22 May 2006 6:20 pm

Most definately NO. Only Citizens and Permanent Residents have to contribute to CPF.

However, There is an arrangement whereby you can contribute but it is not tax free nor tax deductible. Most employers will not do it anyway, but in any case they would have to have your permission before doing so.

sms

jpatokal

Postby jpatokal » Tue, 23 May 2006 10:11 pm