Singapore Expats Forum

Japanese cellphone in Korea???

Discuss about computers & Internet. Including mobile phones, home appliances & other gadgets. Read about Windows security risks or virus updates.
User avatar
emiko08
Chatter
Chatter
Posts: 342
Joined: Sun, 29 May 2005
Location: Japan
Contact:

Japanese cellphone in Korea???

Postby emiko08 » Fri, 05 May 2006 1:31 am

anyone knows whether I could use my Japanese cellphone in Korea????
Thanks!!!

User avatar
Bremen
Reporter
Reporter
Posts: 748
Joined: Wed, 24 Aug 2005
Location: Island of Red Mud

Re: Japanese cellphone in Korea???

Postby Bremen » Fri, 05 May 2006 10:29 am

emiko08 wrote:anyone knows whether I could use my Japanese cellphone in Korea????
Thanks!!!


I doubt it. Japan uses DoCoMo and iMode. Korea uses CDMA.
"Build a man a fire, and he'll be warm for a day. Set a man on fire, and he'll be warm for the rest of his life."
- Terry Pratchett

User avatar
Baron Greenback
Reporter
Reporter
Posts: 853
Joined: Mon, 20 Jun 2005
Location: Singapore

Postby Baron Greenback » Fri, 05 May 2006 10:37 am

I doubt it. Japan uses DoCoMo and iMode. Korea uses CDMA.


Bremen you are a clever sausage :) aren't you.

I would have guessed yes if it can be unlocked, didn't realise that there were the issues that you mentioned (& I have no idea what you are talking about either, but I guess it is a network system)
"An intelligent man is sometimes forced to be drunk to spend time with his fools."
Hemingway

User avatar
Bremen
Reporter
Reporter
Posts: 748
Joined: Wed, 24 Aug 2005
Location: Island of Red Mud

Postby Bremen » Fri, 05 May 2006 11:01 am

Baron Greenback wrote:
I doubt it. Japan uses DoCoMo and iMode. Korea uses CDMA.


Bremen you are a clever sausage :) aren't you.

I would have guessed yes if it can be unlocked, didn't realise that there were the issues that you mentioned (& I have no idea what you are talking about either, but I guess it is a network system)


Yup, competing 3G standards. Japan and Korea don't use the same GSM network most other countries in the world use. :)
"Build a man a fire, and he'll be warm for a day. Set a man on fire, and he'll be warm for the rest of his life."

- Terry Pratchett

User avatar
emiko08
Chatter
Chatter
Posts: 342
Joined: Sun, 29 May 2005
Location: Japan
Contact:

Postby emiko08 » Fri, 05 May 2006 2:08 pm

but some japanese phone uses a CDMA network. :???:

i am unsure :???: but thanks!

User avatar
Bremen
Reporter
Reporter
Posts: 748
Joined: Wed, 24 Aug 2005
Location: Island of Red Mud

Postby Bremen » Fri, 05 May 2006 2:39 pm

emiko08 wrote:but some japanese phone uses a CDMA network. :???:

i am unsure :???: but thanks!


Well, if you're on a Japanese CDMA phone and go to korea, there's a SMALL chance it will work... Best to call your japanese telco and ask them if they have roaming in Korea.
"Build a man a fire, and he'll be warm for a day. Set a man on fire, and he'll be warm for the rest of his life."

- Terry Pratchett

User avatar
Plavt
Director
Director
Posts: 4290
Joined: Wed, 18 May 2005
Location: United Kingdom

Postby Plavt » Fri, 05 May 2006 5:15 pm

Bremen is right as Japan seems to have a unique cellphone network (like its electricity system) and foreign cellphones won't work in Japan since there are few or now agreements with other countries for whatever the reason.

Plavt.

User avatar
jpatokal
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 3014
Joined: Tue, 09 Dec 2003
Location: Terra Australis Incognita

Postby jpatokal » Sat, 06 May 2006 5:55 pm

STFU if you don't know what you're talking about. :roll: Japan's PDC is indeed unique, but Japan's already well into the third generation now and some of their CDMA2000/W-CDMA phones can roam overseas.

Emiko-san, what kind of Japanese phone do you have? Some of Docomo's FOMA phones can roam in Korea with their "World Walker" service, see here:

http://www.nttdocomo.co.jp/service/world/

Same also with au's Global Passport system:

http://www.au.kddi.com/kaigai/

Finally, Vodafone's 3G phones can also roam onto South Korean W-CDMA networks, but coverage is quite limited:

http://www.vodafone.jp/3G/global_service/
Vaguely heretical thoughts on travel technology at Gyrovague

User avatar
Bremen
Reporter
Reporter
Posts: 748
Joined: Wed, 24 Aug 2005
Location: Island of Red Mud

Postby Bremen » Sat, 06 May 2006 10:34 pm

jpatokal wrote:STFU if you don't know what you're talking about. :roll:


Like I said... she should call her telco and ask.
"Build a man a fire, and he'll be warm for a day. Set a man on fire, and he'll be warm for the rest of his life."

- Terry Pratchett

User avatar
Plavt
Director
Director
Posts: 4290
Joined: Wed, 18 May 2005
Location: United Kingdom

Postby Plavt » Sun, 07 May 2006 12:01 am

jpatokal wrote:STFU
Why don't you?

Plavt.

User avatar
emiko08
Chatter
Chatter
Posts: 342
Joined: Sun, 29 May 2005
Location: Japan
Contact:

Postby emiko08 » Sun, 07 May 2006 1:56 am

Plavt wrote:
jpatokal wrote:STFU
Why don't you?

Plavt.


what's STFU? kk. :P

User avatar
jpatokal
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 3014
Joined: Tue, 09 Dec 2003
Location: Terra Australis Incognita

Postby jpatokal » Sun, 07 May 2006 2:46 pm

Plavt wrote:
jpatokal wrote:STFU
Why don't you?


That was a generic reply to all three of you who gave blatantly incorrect answers. Seriously, if you don't have any idea what you're talking about, then why answer? For chrissake, even your take on the "electricity system" was wrong, Japan uses 110V/50-60Hz with US plugs and most American devices will work right off the bat (unless they're frequency-sensitive and you're in Kanto). Now is there some part of my answer you'd care to dispute? :roll:

And Emiko-san, STFU is short for "Shut the Friendly Up". Somebody get me this T-shirt for my birthday :cool:
Vaguely heretical thoughts on travel technology at Gyrovague

User avatar
Plavt
Director
Director
Posts: 4290
Joined: Wed, 18 May 2005
Location: United Kingdom

Postby Plavt » Sun, 07 May 2006 4:21 pm

jpatokal wrote:
Plavt wrote:
jpatokal wrote:STFU
Why don't you?


That was a generic reply to all three of you who gave blatantly incorrect answers. Seriously, if you don't have any idea what you're talking about, then why answer? For chrissake, even your take on the "electricity system" was wrong, Japan uses 110V/50-60Hz with US plugs and most American devices will work right off the bat (unless they're frequency-sensitive and you're in Kanto). Now is there some part of my answer you'd care to dispute? :roll:


For your information that was an easy mistake on my part courtesy of people like yourself who gave me erroneous information when I was in Japan. My take on the electricity system was not wrong as I well remember it being a lower voltage of hundred volts information which was provided in advance in the 'Lonely Planet' guide. I stayed in Tokyo and Osaka. Perhaps you would care to explain something since you know so much. I have an electric tooth-brush on which the light flashes etremely brightly. When I was in Japan it was hardly noticeable which I assumed would be due to the lower voltage. In Singapore and Malaysia there is no difference to what I see here.

Plavt.
Last edited by Plavt on Sun, 07 May 2006 4:32 pm, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
Plavt
Director
Director
Posts: 4290
Joined: Wed, 18 May 2005
Location: United Kingdom

Postby Plavt » Sun, 07 May 2006 4:30 pm

Jpatokal,
Have just checked that Nagoya, Kyoto and Osaka is on 60Hz while Tokyo and eastern Japan are on 50Hz. However I haven't been in Japan since October 2004.

Plavt.

User avatar
Quasimodo
Reporter
Reporter
Posts: 595
Joined: Tue, 25 Oct 2005

Postby Quasimodo » Mon, 08 May 2006 11:01 am

Ok, here we go . . . I do not know anyone who takes or uses their phone from Korea to Japan and vice versa. Does this mean you cannot use it? No idea, all I know is that no-one does (that I know)

jpatlokal, I think you were right out of order in your response to Bremen and Plavt.
One in the hand is worth two of something


  • Similar Topics
    Replies
    Views
    Last post

Return to “Computer, Internet, Phone & Electronics”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests