Singapore Expats Forum
 

Brought a PC from Europe. Not working in Singapore

Discuss about computers & Internet. Including mobile phones, home appliances & other gadgets. Read about Windows security risks or virus updates.
Post Reply
Brideler
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 3
Joined: Thu, 13 Apr 2006 4:47 pm

Brought a PC from Europe. Not working in Singapore

Post by Brideler » Mon, 24 Apr 2006 8:13 pm

Hi. We have just moved here and shipment of the Packard Bell hard disc and Sony LCD screen have arrived. But, they are not working. We signed up with StarHub Maxoline and they tried to set up, but without success. StarHub said that the LCD screen is broken, so, we asked our Mover to have it examined. The mover says there was nothing wrong with the LCD screen, you just have to change the power cord for Singapore. The mover came back with Singapore power cord, and we tried it at home, but, it still doesn't work. :?

Any idea what is wrong with it?

User avatar
Bremen
Reporter
Reporter
Posts: 748
Joined: Wed, 24 Aug 2005 5:14 pm
Location: Island of Red Mud

Re: Brought a PC from Europe. Not working in Singapore

Post by Bremen » Mon, 24 Apr 2006 9:46 pm

Brideler wrote:The Mover says there was nothing wrong with the LCD screen, you just have to change the power cord for Singapore.
Erm. That's pure BS. So long as you have an adaptor, you can use any power cord (US, european, etc etc.). Of course, your monitor has to accept 50-60Hz and be multivold (100-240v), but almost all monitors are.

Your mover is just trying to get out of having to pay for the damage.
"Build a man a fire, and he'll be warm for a day. Set a man on fire, and he'll be warm for the rest of his life."
- Terry Pratchett

User avatar
Strong Eagle
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 11642
Joined: Sat, 10 Jul 2004 12:13 am
Location: Off The Red Dot
Contact:

Post by Strong Eagle » Tue, 25 Apr 2006 5:09 am

Process of elimination.

1) Does your monitor run on 240V juice. If yes, proceed. If not, end.
2) Does your PC work with another monitor? If yes, busted monitor, if not, busted PC.

User avatar
shamsathya
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 9
Joined: Tue, 11 Oct 2005 11:33 am

Post by shamsathya » Tue, 25 Apr 2006 7:58 am

Hope its not the Handling problem by the Movers!
Can u hear any Harddisk Sound or Chime Sound. Once you Power on the PC

(or) check with all the cables disconnected, with just the power cable connection to the PC...

If u have further queries.. u can call me at 98475479

Post Reply
  • Similar Topics
    Replies
    Views
    Last post

Return to “Computer, Internet, Phone & Electronics”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest