Singapore Expats Forum

Girlfriend not Wife. Can I work?

Discuss about getting a well paid job or career advancement. Ask about salaries, expat packages, CPF & taxes for expatriate.

Highland Chicken

Girlfriend not Wife. Can I work?

Postby Highland Chicken » Mon, 10 Apr 2006 5:11 pm

Hey there

Other half relocating to Singapore from Scotland and I am in the process of selling my business. I will be financially stable when we come over and his new company are taking care of the relocation, accommodation, car, flights etc.

We don't have any kids and the prospect of too much time on my hands (although a novelty in the short term) doesn't appeal to me. What's the possibility of obtaining some sort of visa to work over there. My business is a Hotel/Restaurant and my background is also in BDM/Key Account Management in Oil and Gas and Call Centres along with time spent in recruitment.

All help and advice gratefully received.

HC

yorkshirelass

Postby yorkshirelass » Tue, 11 Apr 2006 12:22 am

I was also going to ask a similar question. I have been offered a job at Biopolis, but my boyfriend is not a scientist and so will not find work there.
He's currently doing PR/graphic design and would likee to work in graphic design, although he's open to any kind of work if it means he's not sat around all day. he has a 2:2 degree and good A level results
My wages would feasibly provide enough for us both, but I'm worried that as we're not married he would not be able to stay for the year (I'm planning on only staying a year, which is what the initial job offer is).

Any advice on how easy/straightforward it might be for him to find work and what the consequences would be if he didn't?

We're both UK citizens by the way

Baron Greenback
Reporter
Reporter

Postby Baron Greenback » Wed, 12 Apr 2006 12:31 pm