Singapore Expats Forum

Being a waiter in singapore, would it be good?

Discuss about getting a well paid job or career advancement. Ask about salaries, expat packages, CPF & taxes for expatriate.

wysnaa

Being a waiter in singapore, would it be good?

Postby wysnaa » Wed, 01 Mar 2006 12:49 pm

hai everyone...i am a newbie, need advice and tips from seniors here
in the following months, i'll be employed by an hotel or restaurant in singapore as a waiter. my company will cover my housing (apartment) and my meals. and one thing that bothers me :
1. as a waiter in singapore, if i can perform good service, will i get tip from guests? (in short, is it common in Spore to give tips to a servicer?)

2. BTW, i only get 400 SGD a month as my salary, excluded tips a month as my salary. would it be sufficient for me to live a decent life:) (my company will cover my housing (apartment) and my meals) ?

i really appreciate for those who read this post and help me to get information..thank u

Baron Greenback
Reporter
Reporter

Postby Baron Greenback » Wed, 01 Mar 2006 1:35 pm

Tipping in Singapore is not very common, as there is a 10% service charge it discourages people from tipping. However some people still do if the service is excellent.

$400 doesn't sound very much, but if you don't have to worry about rent or food then it is really pocket money. You will be able to live, just not like a King. If the place you are living is close to your work then you will not have to worry about the cost of commuting everyday either. If you are only getting $400 per month I would check to see that you live close to work as if you have to spend $2 a day on buses that will make a big difference.

Good luck
Last edited by Baron Greenback on Wed, 01 Mar 2006 1:41 pm, edited 1 time in total.
"An intelligent man is sometimes forced to be drunk to spend time with his fools."
Hemingway

Carpe Diem
Manager
Manager

Postby Carpe Diem » Wed, 01 Mar 2006 1:38 pm