Singapore Expats Forum

English Teacher

Discuss about getting a well paid job or career advancement. Ask about salaries, expat packages, CPF & taxes for expatriate.

Laschet

English Teacher

Postby Laschet » Thu, 26 Jan 2006 12:04 pm

Hello everyone,

Recently i have been an avid reader of your forums. I hope my questions aren't going over already posted material.

I am moving to Singapore next month. I am a CELTA qualified English teacher from England. I have about 4 years of teaching experience. I have taught for Middlesex University and my most recent job was as a Visiting Professor at a Korean university. (2 years)

I have a few questions and any information would be much appreciated!

1) Do i have a chance at getting a job in an International School/ College? Or am i more realistically looking at finding a job in a private 'McEnglish' school?

2) Once i find a job is it legal to teach private lessons? Would i need my school's permission?

3)What would be the best method of finding a job? Newspapers/internet/going door to door...?

Thanks very much,

Will Laschet.

k1w1
Reporter
Reporter

Re: English Teacher: Info welcomed.

Postby k1w1 » Thu, 26 Jan 2006 2:24 pm

Laschet wrote:1) Do i have a chance at getting a job in an International School/ College? Or am i more realistically looking at finding a job in a private 'McEnglish' school?

Depends. Do you have a PGCE (or equivalent)? What is your undergraduate degree in? Do you have a Masters? If you don't have anything like this, I suggest the British council. Language schools are just not worth your time. If however, you have a teaching qualification as well as a Celta, there are some schools hiring right now so you stand a good chance of getting something.

2) Once i find a job is it legal to teach private lessons? Would i need my school's permission?

No, it's not legal. They would not give permission. People do it, but most contracts will state that you are not allowed.