Singapore Expats Forum

Advice on employers attitudes in Singapore

Discuss about getting a well paid job or career advancement. Ask about salaries, expat packages, CPF & taxes for expatriate.

Costas

Advice on employers attitudes in Singapore

Postby Costas » Sat, 07 Jan 2006 3:37 am

Hi all,

I am a Financial Analyst, currently working in the UK. I am seriously considering moving to Singapore. This question should ideally be answered by westerners who have lived and work both in Singapore and in Europe/US.

What is it like to work in Singapore in terms of attitudes from Management and in terms of Employee Rights? My Singaporean friends often get surprised when i mention things like ... complaining about a Manager to HR etc. Is a Westerner due for a cultural shock on this front?

I would really like to hear some opinions on that. Anything you can share will be much appreciated.

Thank you very much
Costas

riversandlakes
Reporter
Reporter

Postby riversandlakes » Sat, 07 Jan 2006 4:20 am

Non-ideal answer here, but interesting Q 8)

Why would you bypass your Manager straight to HR? Is that not considered a disrespect to him? I think this is universal? Would you want your subordinate to do the same unto you?

Employee rights tantamounts to be free to resign in protest of poor conditions, e.g. <insert whatever here>. Universal too?

In American MNCs, I've seen a white American slamming his laptop into the wall in huge direct disagreement with his boss - and I heard got away scott-free. Another who emailed "This is a piece of shit" to the workgroup was asked to leave.
So which is which?

Are you looking for personal career fulfillment/advancement or an agreeable place to work? For the latter is Utopian.
Goatboy will always cherish his former goatgirl.
But the world is full of fluffier ones.

Costas

thank you but it's not the point i was trying to make

Postby Costas » Sat, 07 Jan 2006 5:13 am

Dear riversandlakes,