Singapore Expats Forum

Do I need a 3G sim card to use with a 3G cellphone?

Discuss about computers & Internet. Including mobile phones, home appliances & other gadgets. Read about Windows security risks or virus updates.
User avatar
emiko08
Chatter
Chatter
Posts: 342
Joined: Sun, 29 May 2005
Location: Japan
Contact:

Do I need a 3G sim card to use with a 3G cellphone?

Postby emiko08 » Tue, 13 Dec 2005 3:02 pm

this sound stupid. but i am really clueless. :???:

do i need a 3G sim card to use with a 3G cellphone? or will a normal sim card will do work with a 3G cellphone??

i have to make sure before i buy the phone. as the phone is from Japan and it is 3G. thanks! :wink:

User avatar
Bremen
Reporter
Reporter
Posts: 748
Joined: Wed, 24 Aug 2005
Location: Island of Red Mud

Re: Do I need a 3G sim card to use with a 3G cellphone?

Postby Bremen » Tue, 13 Dec 2005 3:11 pm

emiko08 wrote:this sound stupid. but i am really clueless. :???:

do i need a 3G sim card to use with a 3G cellphone? or will a normal sim card will do work with a 3G cellphone??

i have to make sure before i buy the phone. as the phone is from Japan and it is 3G. thanks! :wink:


So long as the phone ALSO supports GSM in addition to whatever 3G standard it uses, you'll be fine. But you won't be able to use 3G features.

As far as i know, very few japanese phones support GSM. Why not tell us the exact model of the phone you have?
"Build a man a fire, and he'll be warm for a day. Set a man on fire, and he'll be warm for the rest of his life."
- Terry Pratchett

User avatar
emiko08
Chatter
Chatter
Posts: 342
Joined: Sun, 29 May 2005
Location: Japan
Contact:

Re: Do I need a 3G sim card to use with a 3G cellphone?

Postby emiko08 » Wed, 14 Dec 2005 12:04 am

Bremen wrote:So long as the phone ALSO supports GSM in addition to whatever 3G standard it uses, you'll be fine. But you won't be able to use 3G features.

As far as i know, very few japanese phones support GSM. Why not tell us the exact model of the phone you have?


oh. the phone is actually unlocked. :) many Vodafone phones are unlocked.

User avatar
riversandlakes
Reporter
Reporter
Posts: 899
Joined: Fri, 22 Jul 2005
Location: Simei
Contact:

Postby riversandlakes » Wed, 14 Dec 2005 1:03 am

Yes, you can.

Though I hope you know what entails there - Japan uses the CDMA network, unlike most of the world on either of the 4 GSM bands. A CDMA phone cannot function in the GSM network and vice-versa.
Goatboy will always cherish his former goatgirl.
But the world is full of fluffier ones.

User avatar
emiko08
Chatter
Chatter
Posts: 342
Joined: Sun, 29 May 2005
Location: Japan
Contact:

Postby emiko08 » Wed, 14 Dec 2005 9:31 am

riversandlakes wrote:Yes, you can.

Though I hope you know what entails there - Japan uses the CDMA network, unlike most of the world on either of the 4 GSM bands. A CDMA phone cannot function in the GSM network and vice-versa.



yes/ i know Japan uses CDMA network. i come from Japan. lol. O:)
but i am glad that the 3G phone can be used with normal sim card. :cool:

User avatar
Bremen
Reporter
Reporter
Posts: 748
Joined: Wed, 24 Aug 2005
Location: Island of Red Mud

Postby Bremen » Wed, 14 Dec 2005 12:12 pm

emiko08 wrote:
yes/ i know Japan uses CDMA network. i come from Japan. lol. O:)
but i am glad that the 3G phone can be used with normal sim card. :cool:


ONLY if it also supports GSM!!! Make sure your phone does!
"Build a man a fire, and he'll be warm for a day. Set a man on fire, and he'll be warm for the rest of his life."

- Terry Pratchett

User avatar
emiko08
Chatter
Chatter
Posts: 342
Joined: Sun, 29 May 2005
Location: Japan
Contact:

Postby emiko08 » Wed, 14 Dec 2005 2:10 pm

Bremen wrote:ONLY if it also supports GSM!!! Make sure your phone does!



yes. it support GSM & CDMA :P
thanks so much for the help!


  • Similar Topics
    Replies
    Views
    Last post

Return to “Computer, Internet, Phone & Electronics”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests