Singapore Expats Forum

Need advice - Melbourne to Singapore

Discuss about getting a well paid job or career advancement. Ask about salaries, expat packages, CPF & taxes for expatriate.

Glemb

Need advice - Melbourne to Singapore

Postby Glemb » Fri, 09 Dec 2005 12:03 pm

Hello people,

Currently im working as a graduate accountant in Melbourne (1yr experience and counting), but I'm really considering about starting afresh in Singapore.

Whats the accounting job market like in Singapore these days (i have a uni degree in both computing and accounting), especially for foreigners who understand very little mandarin and with only 1yr experience like me?

Also, do you think my chance of getting a job is better if I just pack up, go there on 1-way ticket, and find a job then; or should I bother trying to find a job on the internet while keeping my job in Australia?
I reckon that I will not even be considered for an interview if my address is still in Australia, but i may be wrong :)

Thanks in advance for the info...

jhkim
Regular
Regular

Postby jhkim » Fri, 09 Dec 2005 5:30 pm

I secured my job before coming to Singapore......I think it is a risky idea to quit your job first.

You will have less negotiating power once you are here...and you will not be able to negotiate strong cause you need them more.

I don't see the benefit of physically being in Singapore unless it is an entry level position.

Bremen
Reporter
Reporter

Re: Need advice - Melbourne to Singapore

Postby Bremen » Sat, 10 Dec 2005 2:54 pm

Glemb wrote:Hello people,

Currently im working as a graduate accountant in Melbourne (1yr experience and counting), but I'm really considering about starting afresh in Singapore.

Whats the accounting job market like in Singapore these days (i have a uni degree in both computing and accounting), especially for foreigners who understand very little mandarin and with only 1yr experience like me?