Singapore Expats

DP holder looking for a job in HR

Discuss about getting a well paid job or career advancement. Ask about salaries, expat packages, CPF & taxes for expatriate.
ruchiratripathi

DP holder looking for a job in HR

Post by ruchiratripathi » Mon, 05 Dec 2005 6:27 pm

Hi All,

I am a dependant pass holder and have been in Singapore for about 4 months now. I graduated this year from a good US University in the area of Human Resources. I have been applying and applying for jobs here but have not heard from anyone. I have mainly been using the internet to look for jobs. Do you guys have any ideas on what else I can do?

I thought getting a job here would not be that difficult given that Singapore has laws that encourage foreign workers but apparently it is not so.

Your suggestions will be very helpful.
Thanks.

dcken

re: DP holder looking for a job in HR

Post by dcken » Tue, 06 Dec 2005 3:52 pm

Hiya,
in a similar situation although HR not my field. When I came to Singapore in August I went off to American Association meeting for newbies. One lady there said she had been trying to work in HR as was getting nowhere. Response was well in Singapore local HR is not what we think HR is in the states or europe. As such they do not see the point in expertise from foreign universities / experience, lady was explicitly told only try MNCs directly.

I have started to follow directly and feel getting more traction, hobsons has a good link to all the foreign MNC's in singapore with names of HR Managers on some.

I called up one recruiter as heard nothing and I was mega qualified for job, she hadnt read my application two weeks later, and skimmed through it and said not good fit... and wont have budget for you... I tried to explain how i was a perfect fit and flexible on salary but got nowhere.

Hope things improve for you, Ken.

ruchiratripathi

Re: re: DP holder looking for a job in HR

Post by ruchiratripathi » Fri, 09 Dec 2005 10:17 am

Hey Ken,