Singapore Expats Forum

prospect of an accountant

Discuss about getting a well paid job or career advancement. Ask about salaries, expat packages, CPF & taxes for expatriate.

revolta

prospect of an accountant

Postby revolta » Wed, 16 Nov 2005 3:07 pm

i have a diploma in engineering field, thought of studying acca to become an accountant.
Is there any accountant here?
care to share what are the propect of being an accountant.

Bremen
Reporter
Reporter

Postby Bremen » Wed, 16 Nov 2005 3:22 pm

You may wind up being stuck in the windowless back office of a bank, tallying other people's money.

All depends on your charisma too.
"Build a man a fire, and he'll be warm for a day. Set a man on fire, and he'll be warm for the rest of his life."
- Terry Pratchett

revolta

Postby revolta » Wed, 16 Nov 2005 6:19 pm

Hi Bremen, are you an accountant? i dun like engineering field, rather sit at office do office work(i like number), hate fixing those mechine.

actually i have done some research, the paid for an accountant is good with experience, but long working hours.

I scare that the market for accountant will be not good after i get my acca cert, that will be 2years plus.

anjin-san

Postby anjin-san » Thu, 17 Nov 2005 7:53 am

From what I can gather, there's a shortage of accountants so you should be alright. I don't think 2 years is enough time for a glut to form, considering the fact that many accounting students who study in Australia & NZ are staying on after graduation.
Friends in the industry have told me that the hours are long and the pay is lousy. But as soon as you get Chartered status (3 years methinks) you get a very nice wage rise.
If you are truly interested, why not go for it! An accounting qualification can take you many places. Best of luck revolta.

Pat

cygnus1

Postby cygnus1 » Tue, 22 Nov 2005 12:17 am

hey anjin

i was thinking of getting CPA / CFA / ACCA in singapore...what about u?