Singapore Expats Forum

Electric outlets

Discuss about the latest news & interesting topics, real life experience or other out of topic discussions with locals & expatriates in Singapore.

User avatar
YF
Regular
Regular
Posts: 84
Joined: Mon, 18 Jul 2005
Location: New Haven
Contact:

Electric outlets

Postby YF » Mon, 14 Nov 2005 2:30 am

I am bringing my computer (and monitor) with me to Singapore but I am wondering what I need for an adapter or a transformer? Is thi something I should just get there? (I am coming from US/Canada).

Thanks,
RDL

User avatar
Carpe Diem
Manager
Manager
Posts: 1642
Joined: Tue, 12 Jul 2005
Location: Singapore

Postby Carpe Diem » Mon, 14 Nov 2005 2:35 am

The plugs in Singapore look like that

Image

(same as UK if I remember correctly). And voltage is 220V.

You can find plug adaptors in many shops here, or at the airport.

Hope this helps.
La vie est trop courte, profitons de chaque instant

User avatar
YF
Regular
Regular
Posts: 84
Joined: Mon, 18 Jul 2005
Location: New Haven
Contact:

Postby YF » Mon, 14 Nov 2005 9:05 am

But will I need to get a transformer or will an adapter be fine? I don't know anything about how the current will affect my computer if I just use an adaptor.

Thanks!
RDL

User avatar
Mary Hatch Bailey
Manager
Manager
Posts: 1579
Joined: Thu, 06 Oct 2005
Location: Bedford Falls

Postby Mary Hatch Bailey » Mon, 14 Nov 2005 9:18 am

It depends on your computer. My new iMac said it has a converter built in. I asked them in the US and I asked them here before I plugged it in -- they said it would be fine, then POOF!

I think a transformer is the way to go -- it's your computer after all. You're bringing me a white pie from Pepe's right?

User avatar
Bremen
Reporter
Reporter
Posts: 748
Joined: Wed, 24 Aug 2005
Location: Island of Red Mud

Postby Bremen » Mon, 14 Nov 2005 10:02 am

Check the back of your PC. You should see a switch for "110/220".
"Build a man a fire, and he'll be warm for a day. Set a man on fire, and he'll be warm for the rest of his life."
- Terry Pratchett

User avatar
sundaymorningstaple
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 34260
Joined: Thu, 11 Nov 2004
Location: Still Fishing!
Contact:

Re: Electric outlets

Postby sundaymorningstaple » Mon, 14 Nov 2005 11:07 am

YF wrote:I am bringing my computer (and monitor) with me to Singapore but I am wondering what I need for an adapter or a transformer? Is thi something I should just get there? (I am coming from US/Canada).

Thanks,
RDL


If you're using a notebook, it will work fine. If you are using a Desktop it should also work fine and it is usually switchable. However, with the costs of Desktop here, I wouldn't bother to bring it over and paying the shipping charges, etc. I'd just bring the HDD and buy a PC over here and put your HDD inside as a 2nd HardDisk.

sms

perhaps eric would be better placed to answer here as he has a background with intel i believe.

User avatar
Strong Eagle
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 10408
Joined: Sat, 10 Jul 2004
Location: Off The Red Dot
Contact:

Re: Electric outlets

Postby Strong Eagle » Mon, 14 Nov 2005 12:04 pm

YF wrote:I am bringing my computer (and monitor) with me to Singapore but I am wondering what I need for an adapter or a transformer? Is thi something I should just get there? (I am coming from US/Canada).

Thanks,
RDL


It will cost you a LOT of money to ship the thing. You cannot do it by post office as the boxes are too big. Air shipment via UPS or DHL is totally cost prohibitive. Sending it via Unicorn or other shipper will cost more than us$1000.

If you elect to bring it, check the power supply on the PC. It will either have a 110/220 switch or the specs will give you the input voltage range. On the PC I thought about bringing over, the PC itself was switchable, the monitor was not.

I agree with SMS... avoid the expense and hassle... buy one here.

User avatar
YF
Regular
Regular
Posts: 84
Joined: Mon, 18 Jul 2005
Location: New Haven
Contact:

Postby YF » Tue, 15 Nov 2005 3:59 am

Fortunetly I have a mini computer and so it fits nicely as carry on. In fact I have a small carrying case for travel as well. I am assuming there is no "shipping charges" for brining by mini computer as carry on?

Best,
RDL

User avatar
Carpe Diem
Manager
Manager
Posts: 1642
Joined: Tue, 12 Jul 2005
Location: Singapore

Postby Carpe Diem » Tue, 15 Nov 2005 4:50 am

YF wrote:Fortunetly I have a mini computer and so it fits nicely as carry on. In fact I have a small carrying case for travel as well. I am assuming there is no "shipping charges" for brining by mini computer as carry on?

Best,
RDL


Of course not. Just check voltage then.
La vie est trop courte, profitons de chaque instant

User avatar
YF
Regular
Regular
Posts: 84
Joined: Mon, 18 Jul 2005
Location: New Haven
Contact:

Postby YF » Wed, 16 Nov 2005 8:52 am

Thanks for all the help guys. A few weeks before I leave. I will be sure to come to one of the get togethers.

Best,
RDL


  • Similar Topics
    Replies
    Views
    Last post

Return to “General Discussions”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 8 guests