Singapore Expats Forum

Employment Pass Application Query

Discuss about getting a well paid job or career advancement. Ask about salaries, expat packages, CPF & taxes for expatriate.

anjin-san

Employment Pass Application Query

Postby anjin-san » Sun, 13 Nov 2005 12:51 pm

Howdy everyone!

I've just been offered a job (entry-level) with a bank in Singapore. My employers and I have begun the application process for an Employment Pass.

I was wondering if there could be any problems due to the fact that I've had no working experience aside from internships (just out of university)? Plus, how long does is normally take to process an EP? I read 2-4 weeks on one website, 3 weeks on another, and been told just over a month by someone else.

Thanks heaps people.

Regards,
Pat

Bremen
Reporter
Reporter

Re: Employment Pass Application Query

Postby Bremen » Sun, 13 Nov 2005 1:50 pm

anjin-san wrote:Howdy everyone!

I've just been offered a job (entry-level) with a bank in Singapore. My employers and I have begun the application process for an Employment Pass.

I was wondering if there could be any problems due to the fact that I've had no working experience aside from internships (just out of university)? Plus, how long does is normally take to process an EP? I read 2-4 weeks on one website, 3 weeks on another, and been told just over a month by someone else.

Thanks heaps people.

Regards,
Pat

Hi Pat,

Yes, the bank would need to work hard to get the EP since you have no work experience. They have to convince the MoM that you have unique skills not found in the local workforce.

2-4 weeks is about right.
"Build a man a fire, and he'll be warm for a day. Set a man on fire, and he'll be warm for the rest of his life."
- Terry Pratchett

anjin-san

Postby anjin-san » Sun, 13 Nov 2005 2:18 pm

Thanks for the reply Bremen. A slight disadvantage hey? Bugger!
Let me furnish a few more details - maybe that will help my assessement?