Singapore Expats Forum

What kind of job

Discuss about getting a well paid job or career advancement. Ask about salaries, expat packages, CPF & taxes for expatriate.

nd_tan

What kind of job

Postby nd_tan » Mon, 07 Nov 2005 7:56 pm

I am a male,21. Indonesian. I am in Singapore and trying to find a job in here. I just graduated from a university in Jakarta, and have no working experience. My major is Information System. I understand some programming language such as VB, C++, ASP but i only know the basic of them.
What kind of job can i do? I also plan to find some courses to polish my programming language when i work.
Now i am learning English in here and I have a student pass. Can i change my pass immidiately to employment pass if I already got the job?

Thanks a lot.

Rgrds.

Yanto

Scorpion
Editor
Editor

In SG

Postby Scorpion » Mon, 07 Nov 2005 8:14 pm

Hi nd_tan, the basic points to get your E.pass approved is a good education from a reputed university and atleast an basic working experience.

So without any working experience there shall be lots of conflicts. So if you are on a student pass you have a option to work.

For that you need to get an letter of consent from your college and submit it with your employment letter. then you are allowed to work but with some restriction like how many hours you can work for the day/week/month etc. Need to get more details from the ministry of manpower regards this.

There are no tax for the amount you earn.

cheers :cool:
When u Need Someone to Be Beside u And No One Is Around Just Gaze Up In The Sky,u Might Not See Me But Be Sure That We r Under The Same Sky,I wl'd Never B 2 Far....

uncle_james
Regular
Regular

Postby uncle_james » Tue, 08 Nov 2005 2:51 am

some correction, you still have to pay taxes once you are employment pass holder, but you will be exempted if your income lower than 22K a year

look at here : http://www.iras.gov.sg/ESVPortal/iit/ii ... .1+faq.asp