Singapore Expats Forum

IT JOBS /SALARY/ HOW TO FIND JOBS?

Discuss about getting a well paid job or career advancement. Ask about salaries, expat packages, CPF & taxes for expatriate.

jiannie911

IT JOBS /SALARY/ HOW TO FIND JOBS?

Postby jiannie911 » Mon, 24 Oct 2005 10:48 am

Hi all,

I have a masters degree in IT from one of the top universities in United States, along with 3 years of working experiences from top companies will be moving to singapore for personal reasons, anyone know what's the best way to look for a job there right away? and how much should i expect? currently getting 70k US dollars(entry level for newly graduates)

thanks

Bremen
Reporter
Reporter

Postby Bremen » Mon, 24 Oct 2005 12:44 pm

Entry level for IT grads here is about 30k SGD per year. You might be able to get 40-45k if your qualifications are good.

Best places to look are jobsdb and jobstreet.
"Build a man a fire, and he'll be warm for a day. Set a man on fire, and he'll be warm for the rest of his life."
- Terry Pratchett

jhkim
Regular
Regular

Postby jhkim » Mon, 24 Oct 2005 1:42 pm

Crap....I made USD 27,000/year after I graduated from University in NY. I knew I was getting ripped off!! :mad:

Anyway it all depends what you do and the demands of your skills....

Since you have a master...it should do you some good.....I think even SGD 70,000/year is a bit impossible.

Best is to get a job there from there before coming here. Once you reach here...you have much less negotiating power...don't quit till you have a secure a job.

Merlion

Postby Merlion » Mon, 24 Oct 2005 7:05 pm