Singapore Expats Forum

SG's phone number on VOIP ?

Discuss about computers & Internet. Including mobile phones, home appliances & other gadgets. Read about Windows security risks or virus updates.
fx8fx
Chatter
Chatter
Posts: 162
Joined: Thu, 06 Oct 2005

SG's phone number on VOIP ?

Postby fx8fx » Sat, 08 Oct 2005 7:32 pm

SG's phone number on VOIP ?

Skype has phone number for HK , is there any company provide SG's phone online ?

User avatar
ksl
Governor
Governor
Posts: 6005
Joined: Mon, 19 Jul 2004
Location: Singapore
Contact:

Re: SG's phone number on VOIP ?

Postby ksl » Sat, 08 Oct 2005 9:59 pm

fx8fx wrote:SG's phone number on VOIP ?

Skype has phone number for HK , is there any company provide SG's phone online ?


You are not making much sense at all! if your ringing to Singapore with skype, you just need the Country code, otherwise you have totally confused me.

Pioneer
Regular
Regular
Posts: 52
Joined: Sat, 01 Oct 2005

Postby Pioneer » Sat, 08 Oct 2005 11:56 pm

Hi, I use Nikotel that gives me a UK VoIP number, I just checked and unfortunately they only do US, Germany and UK at the moment. They are considerably cheaper than Skype.

Depending upon where you get your calls from then it might be cheaper for the people calling you to have one of these numbers. As an example I am planning to move to SG soon and my inlaws live in Austria. It is much cheaper for them to call my UK VoIP number and I answer it in SG than it is for them to dial straight to an SG number.

I am hoping to find a provider of a VoIP local number for SG then I will not need to pay for a local telephone line in SG either as all my calls will be through my SIP phone.

fx8fx
Chatter
Chatter
Posts: 162
Joined: Thu, 06 Oct 2005

Re: SG's phone number on VOIP ?

Postby fx8fx » Sun, 09 Oct 2005 12:26 am

ksl wrote:
fx8fx wrote:SG's phone number on VOIP ?

Skype has phone number for HK , is there any company provide SG's phone online ?


You are not making much sense at all! if your ringing to Singapore with skype, you just need the Country code, otherwise you have totally confused me.


it's a phone number for you to pick up via computer , so all of Singapore friends can call you .

you can call it phone 2 pc

fx8fx
Chatter
Chatter
Posts: 162
Joined: Thu, 06 Oct 2005

Postby fx8fx » Sun, 09 Oct 2005 12:57 am

Pioneer wrote:Hi, I use Nikotel that gives me a UK VoIP number, I just checked and unfortunately they only do US, Germany and UK at the moment. They are considerably cheaper than Skype.

Depending upon where you get your calls from then it might be cheaper for the people calling you to have one of these numbers. As an example I am planning to move to SG soon and my inlaws live in Austria. It is much cheaper for them to call my UK VoIP number and I answer it in SG than it is for them to dial straight to an SG number.

I am hoping to find a provider of a VoIP local number for SG then I will not need to pay for a local telephone line in SG either as all my calls will be through my SIP phone.



you think it's cheaper than skype ?
how much you pay to get the number ?

i paid 30 euro for an USA number for 1 year at SKYPE

Pioneer
Regular
Regular
Posts: 52
Joined: Sat, 01 Oct 2005

Postby Pioneer » Sun, 09 Oct 2005 3:28 am

The number is about 3 euro a month, but this is not the point I was making, the calls per/min are much cheaper at Nikotel than Skype so overall it works out cheaper.
At the moment I do not use a number here in UK, but just use the SIP phone to make calls to public phones, but do have a internet phone number so anyone can ring me through their internet connection.

fx8fx
Chatter
Chatter
Posts: 162
Joined: Thu, 06 Oct 2005

Postby fx8fx » Sun, 09 Oct 2005 11:52 am

Pioneer wrote:The number is about 3 euro a month, but this is not the point I was making, the calls per/min are much cheaper at Nikotel than Skype so overall it works out cheaper.
At the moment I do not use a number here in UK, but just use the SIP phone to make calls to public phones, but do have a internet phone number so anyone can ring me through their internet connection.


Hi Pioneer,

How is rate you got from nikotel , from the public one , i see the rate is not better than skype except US or UK's normal phone.

And I'm using Vbuzzer for about 20 countries at 0.01 usd per min.

Pkchukiss
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 11
Joined: Sun, 20 Feb 2005
Location: Singapore
Contact:

Postby Pkchukiss » Sun, 30 Oct 2005 12:03 am

Do you happen to be talking about MediaRing?
Ignorant no more
Visit my blog here

peetah
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 1
Joined: Sun, 06 Nov 2005

Re: SG's phone number on VOIP ?

Postby peetah » Sun, 06 Nov 2005 6:09 am

fx8fx wrote:SG's phone number on VOIP ?

Skype has phone number for HK , is there any company provide SG's phone online ?


I'm sure you searched as much as I have... but I haven't found a VOIP provider that can provide a Singapore number.... yet.

freeme
Regular
Regular
Posts: 123
Joined: Sat, 07 May 2005

Postby freeme » Sun, 05 Mar 2006 6:18 am

Hi ... i saw you post about voip and i am wondering if u ccan fill me in about more info about voip. U stated that there is a ompany called vbuzzer.. just to clearify, can i make a call from my singapore computer to a land line in holland for US$0.01???
can u tell me if the quality is good>?

Many thanks freeme






[quote="fx8fx"][quote="Pioneer"]The number is about 3 euro a month, but this is not the point I was making, the calls per/min are much cheaper at Nikotel than Skype so overall it works out cheaper.
At the moment I do not use a number here in UK, but just use the SIP phone to make calls to public phones, but do have a internet phone number so anyone can ring me through their internet connection.[/quote]

Hi Pioneer,

How is rate you got from nikotel , from the public one , i see the rate is not better than skype except US or UK's normal phone.

And I'm using Vbuzzer for about 20 countries at 0.01 usd per min.[/quote]

fx8fx
Chatter
Chatter
Posts: 162
Joined: Thu, 06 Oct 2005

Postby fx8fx » Mon, 13 Mar 2006 10:06 pm

http://voice.yahoo.com/phone_rates.php#section13


Netherlands $0.015
Netherlands Antilles $0.150
Netherlands Antilles, Mobile $0.150
Netherlands, Amsterdam $0.015
Netherlands, Mobile $0.250


:wink:

the quality is based on yr internet connection

good luck :)

bunty
Reporter
Reporter
Posts: 632
Joined: Mon, 20 Mar 2006
Location: SG

Calling net2 phone

Postby bunty » Wed, 12 Apr 2006 11:34 am

yahoo and msn have net2phone. but how does that work , is it only from US to other parts of the world.


  • Similar Topics
    Replies
    Views
    Last post

Return to “Computer, Internet, Phone & Electronics”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests