Singapore Expats Forum

My experience while looking for a job in Singapore!!!

Discuss about getting a well paid job or career advancement. Ask about salaries, expat packages, CPF & taxes for expatriate.

askmeagain

My experience while looking for a job in Singapore!!!

Postby askmeagain » Wed, 05 Oct 2005 3:51 pm

I am staying Malaysia for past 2 years with multiple entry visas. I have entry to Singapore. Recently I visited Singapore in search of job. Here is my experience, please guide me.............

By the way, let me first tell you about my qualifications. I am electronic engineer, with MBA-ITM (MBA in Information Technology). I have also done MCSE (Microsoft Certified Systems Engineer), beside that I have done O-Level and A-Level from Cambridge University, UK.

Apart from that I have more than 5 years of experience but mixed type, from teaching at university level to Network engineer. I have designed and developed some website too using PHP and Mysql, HTML, JavaScript, Flash, Photoshop etc.

I tried lot in Singapore to find a job as my own, but no body is willing to take me. I found lots of restriction for jobs being as foreigner. All they are saying they need Singaporean or PR holder. I have Master Degree, but most of the jobs need Bachelor or O/A-Level but still, I cannot get one.

I visited some agents too. Some of them they are saying, we work for Singaporean only. I applied many jobs via Internet, but no any feed back, just usual sentences like "we have record your CV in our database for future, inform you in future…."

I heard that Singapore is just and least corrupt country, without any discrimination, but I have stated to feel that........Is it because I am from third world country?

Can some one advice me..... How to tackle a job problem????

ipodnano

Postby ipodnano » Wed, 05 Oct 2005 4:05 pm