Singapore Expats

Giving tuition

Discuss about getting a well paid job or career advancement. Ask about salaries, expat packages, CPF & taxes for expatriate.
tuition

Giving tuition

Post by tuition » Sat, 03 Sep 2005 2:13 am

Hi. In order to make some extra money, I would like to teach english but first I wanted to check, does anyone do this now and if so, how much do you normally charge per hour and what kind of course materials are needed?

Thanks for your help.

k1w1
Reporter
Reporter

Post by k1w1 » Sat, 03 Sep 2005 8:28 pm

Can you give us some more info? Have you done this before? Are you a qualified teacher? Age and level of students? Length/type of lesson (read: how much preparation will you need to do?) All of this will affect the amount you can charge, and the type of resources required.

tuition

Post by tuition » Sun, 04 Sep 2005 1:35 pm

Hi. No, I've never done this before, hence the reason I'm trying to make contact with others to get an idea of what I need to do and how to go about it. I don't have a background in teaching but I feel that it's not necessary in order to teach, considering I'm a native english speaker.

Thanks for your help.

k1w1
Reporter
Reporter

Post by k1w1 » Sun, 04 Sep 2005 3:56 pm

You're going to find it very hard, I'm afraid. A bare minimum would be some experience and a TESL. A teaching qualification would be preferable.

I'm not actually sure whether you are being serious: why do you think this is feasible? Even the crappiest language schools in Asia (who do not expect their staff to have experience or qualifications) put their teachers through a training programme and they are required to at least have an idea of resources before going into a class that someone else is supposed to pay for.

Sorry if this sounds harsh, but I get really tired of people thinking teaching is a joke job that anyone with a pulse can do.

mumbaigirl

Post by mumbaigirl » Thu, 29 Sep 2005 5:29 pm

hi tuition,