Singapore Expats Forum

Jobs and career for biotechnologists...?!

Discuss about getting a well paid job or career advancement. Ask about salaries, expat packages, CPF & taxes for expatriate.

BBC-boy

Jobs and career for biotechnologists...?!

Postby BBC-boy » Wed, 06 Jul 2005 2:14 am

Hi, Im a UK post-grad looking to broaden my horizons a bit. Have been considering a biotech/science- related job abroad for a long time now- all arrows seem to point to the Biopolis centre for this...
Any comments or info about this?
Anyone actually there?
cheers

toxictanktops

Postby toxictanktops » Wed, 06 Jul 2005 12:28 pm

Hi there...

I work at Biopolis. I'm a grad student at a research institute there. What would you like to know about it? I'll be glad to hlep you :)

BBC-boy

Postby BBC-boy » Thu, 07 Jul 2005 6:45 am

Um, anything and everything, if possible!
Most of the major companies/players etc. lifestyle, working ethics, social aspects, career development, the weather....... absolutely anything.....
... especially salaries- for typical graduates, post-grads, postdocs scientists, senior- all the different levels if possible.
And the Biolopis centre? Whats the likelihood of BBCs getting good job offers etc?

thanks so much

Postby Guest » Thu, 07 Jul 2005 11:37 pm

most likely u wont get the job in sg unless you are the super talented scientist who just got nobel prize for new bio-science discovery. The jobs are more likely to be given to locals first..u may try. no harm..just being realistic

toxictanktops

Postby toxictanktops » Sat, 09 Jul 2005 10:14 am

Actully guest, you are wrong.

Most insitutes in Singapore are not too keen on re-hiring their own graduates. You would have to work outside Singapore for a few years if you want to stand any chance of being hired for an academic position here. I am talking about principal investigator / professor type posts here. For a lab technologist, perhaps there is a preference for locals.