Singapore Expats

Help getting employed in Singapore

Discuss about getting a well paid job or career advancement. Ask about salaries, expat packages, CPF & taxes for expatriate.
Craig

Help getting employed in Singapore

Post by Craig » Sat, 25 Jun 2005 11:54 pm

Hello, I am 35 y/o American who will be relocating to Singapore at then end of the year because my fiance' is from there. I have been searching jobs in Singapore on various job sites but most say for Singaporeans or PR's only. I have a Bachelors degree in Accounting and a Masters degree in Accounting and Management however, I can't seem to make any headway.
I would appreciate any information on how to go about getting employed in Singapore. Thank you.
Craig Mathison
Master of Accounting & Management
Iowa State Univeristy
Ames, IA. 50011
USA

sundaymorningstaple
Answers: 21

Re: Help getting employed in Singapore

Post by sundaymorningstaple » Sun, 26 Jun 2005 1:59 am

Craig wrote:Hello, I am 35 y/o American who will be relocating to Singapore at then end of the year because my fiance' is from there. I have been searching jobs in Singapore on various job sites but most say for Singaporeans or PR's only. I have a Bachelors degree in Accounting and a Masters degree in Accounting and Management however, I can't seem to make any headway.
I would appreciate any information on how to go about getting employed in Singapore. Thank you.
Hi Craig,

I would suggest that you try the "so-called" big 5 here in Singapore, Delitouche (sp?), Anderson, etc, etc. You may also want to try some of the major US MNC's here as I would assume with the debacles of Enron, et al the past couple of years, that along with your Masters and you would be right on top of Sarbanes-Oxley. I saw a few companies recently advertising in the Straits Times Appointment section of the local paper looking for accountants with Sarbox expertise.

You may also want to try www.jobsdb.com.sg or www.jobstreet.com.sg