Singapore Expats Forum

Is this a good expat package??

Discuss about getting a well paid job or career advancement. Ask about salaries, expat packages, CPF & taxes for expatriate.

Barok

Is this a good expat package??

Postby Barok » Sun, 05 Jun 2005 1:39 pm

I’m in the process of negotiating an expat package with my US based company. It’s a two year stint in Singapore and I work in the financial services industry. Here is what has been offered so far:

• Housing allowance (furnished)
• Utilities (water, gas, electricity, garbage, ISP, telephone, etc.)
• Car allowance
• Cost of living adjustment
• Relocation expenses (to & from)
• Trips back to U.S. (was given two trips per year, but trying to negotiate bi-monthly)
• Tax equalization (not sure how this is going to work since from what I understand, taxes are lower in Singapore)
• Health care
• Tuition fees for my child

My expectation was that they would also pay for my home mortgage, since I had no plans on renting it out. I asked about this and I was told that this isn’t something that they normally do. What’s in it for me then if they won’t cover this? The experience alone isn’t enough for me to accept this opportunity. Am I asking for too much or should this be covered in my expat package? Also, should I ask for anything else? It can’t hurt to ask.

Strong Eagle

Postby Strong Eagle » Sun, 05 Jun 2005 2:23 pm

If the experience alone is not worth coming for, then I'd suggest that you not come.

My experience is that expats who are here for the longer haul, some on expat packages, some on local packages, some like me who came here to start a business, are generally very happy being here. They like the people, the differences, the lifestyle. They seem to get along well with everyone.