Singapore Expats

CPF and US Tax Filing

Discuss about getting a well paid job or career advancement. Ask about salaries, expat packages, CPF & taxes for expatriate.
silverken

CPF and US Tax Filing

Post by silverken » Tue, 21 Mar 2023 6:57 am

I am new to US Tax filing for CPF. I would like to seek advice for:
1. How to file US tax for the Medishield premium deducted from MA? As distribution?
2. How to file US tax for payment for DPS deducted from OA? As distribution?
3. How to file GST or other $$$ added by Singapore Gov to your OA or MA? As income, compensation,etc?
4. If you plan to leave Singapore and surrender your PR, how do you handle your CPF closure? Your CPF closure will happen a month after you renounce your PR. I think such big withdrawal from CPF is treated as taxable distribution.
5. Do you file form 3520 or just 8938 for interests, dividends, distribution, other income, contribution, etc. for CPF? How do you do it?
thanks
by malcontent » Wed, 22 Mar 2023 11:28 pm
1. No, paying a Medishield premium out of CPF would be no different than paying a private insurance premium from your own bank account, there’s no tax impact whatsoever.
2. Same rule as #1 applies, neither are considered distributions in the US tax sense.
3. I am not 100% sure on GST rebates; it should be classified as a tax refund and tax refunds are not taxed (that is how US stimulus money went tax free, because it was deemed a tax refund). However, interest added to CPF by the government is interest income from a US tax perspective, and cannot be deferred - it has to be declared and taxed as paid each year.