Singapore Expats

Anyone with in Singapore but live in Batam?

Discuss about the latest news & interesting topics, real life experience or other out of topic discussions with locals & expatriates in Singapore.
RichardOrme

Anyone with in Singapore but live in Batam?

Post by RichardOrme » Sun, 19 Feb 2023 2:07 pm

Hi all,

Newbie here so take it easy. I am a British citizen and I have an option to come and set up the Talent department for my company in Singapore. Looking at costs of schools, accommodation etc in Singapore and also having an indonesian wife it made more sense to move to batam and get the ferry daily. Anyone else done this as would welcome any advice.

Kind regards

Richard

malcontent
Manager
Manager
Answers: 8

Re: Anyone with in Singapore but live in Batam?

Post by malcontent » Mon, 20 Feb 2023 8:25 pm

Let me try and break the stunned silence on the board here… you are suggesting a commute, both ways, Singapore-BTM, BTM-Singapore every single weekday? That means clearing customs and immigration on both sides, daily. Getting from the port to wherever you live/work on each side, daily. To be perfectly honest, it’s seriously exhausting just to think about it.

If I were forced into such an arrangement, I would only commute once a week into Singapore. For example, arrive Sunday night and then return to Batam on Friday night. Then I would rent a room for S$500-600/mo in Singapore to sleep during weekdays.
Every great and deep difficulty bears in itself its own solution. It forces us to change our thinking in order to find it - Niels Bohr

Lisafuller
Governor
Governor
Answers: 3

Post by Lisafuller » Tue, 21 Feb 2023 1:49 am

RichardOrme wrote:
Sun, 19 Feb 2023 2:07 pm
Hi all,