Singapore Expats

American EP holders, how do you invest?

Discuss about the different financial investment options, financial markets, common investment products and what is trending in the market.
MAGE

American EP holders, how do you invest?

Post by MAGE » Mon, 04 Oct 2021 11:43 am

I have been looking into how I can possibly invest and grow wealth in Singapore as an EP holder. It seems however, as an American we cannot sign up for Tiger or Moomoo stock exchange.

The DBS multiplier account is okay but seems to be catered more for the very rich to get anything worthwhile.

We would like to start investing, but not sure what programs are out there for us?

And as my PR status is pending - those of you with PR, does this limitation of signing up for stock exchange apps lift with PR?

Any guidance will be great as a noob investing foreigner in Singapore. Btw, I have been here for about 3 years, so it's not that I'm new to the country, just investing:)

malcontent
Manager
Manager
Answers: 8

Re: American EP holders, how do you invest?

Post by malcontent » Mon, 04 Oct 2021 1:19 pm

Welcome to the forum. I see this is your second post since Nov 2020. There are several Americans who are active on this board, including myself. As a US investor living abroad, there is much you need to learn & I can definitely help you out with that.

But first, we get a lot of flimflam posters on this board and it would be good if you can tell us a little more about yourself first, how did you end up in Singapore?
Every great and deep difficulty bears in itself its own solution. It forces us to change our thinking in order to find it - Niels Bohr

MAGE

Post by MAGE » Mon, 04 Oct 2021 1:34 pm

malcontent wrote:
Mon, 04 Oct 2021 1:19 pm
But first, we get a lot of flimflam posters on this board and it would be good if you can tell us a little more about yourself first, how did you end up in Singapore?