Singapore Expats Forum

job hunting: tough luck

Discuss about getting a well paid job or career advancement. Ask about salaries, expat packages, CPF & taxes for expatriate.

ian

job hunting: tough luck

Postby ian » Mon, 28 Mar 2005 5:08 pm

i visited singapore on a number of occasions already. the last one was just recently - March 4-20, i was actually hoping i could find a job during my stay there, unluckily, it did not turn out as planned.

i graduated with honours in business economics from a premiere university here in my home country. i have about five years of work experience already. just recently, i received the much-coveted most outstanding employee of the year award. this serves as a testament to my commitment to excellence and my ability to add value to any organisation I work for.

but it seems my achievements and qualifications are not enough to land me a job there in singapore. :cry:

what could be wrong? :(

Strong Eagle

Postby Strong Eagle » Mon, 28 Mar 2005 5:44 pm

What could be wrong? How about a fundamental shift in the Singaporean economy.

Consider: Up until the financial meltdown of 96/97 which started in Thailand, the whole of Southeast Asia was booming, and Singapore was its hub, financially, technically, and managerially. When the meltdown occurred, about 70 percent of all expats in the region, including those in Singapore, were repatriated because of serious revenue downturns.

Having all those expats leave Singapore didn't do much for the economy. They brought in lots of foreign dollars with high salaries and packages. However, the economy is only part of it. Singapore also lost a significant part of its managerial and technical infrastructure. It just wasn't needed.

Fast forward to now. The economy is recovering but it is still nowhere near the boom years of the 90's. And it is unlikely that it will ever be that strong again for Singapore, and in particular, for expats wanting to move to Singpore. There are several reasons for this.