Singapore Expats Forum

Looking for friends of similar background

Post here to organise an event, gathering, meetup, party. Search for expats from your country, sports partners or meet new friends here!
Guest Expat

Looking for friends of similar background

Postby Guest Expat » Mon, 14 Mar 2005 8:14 pm

Hi all,

I'm of Indian descent but have never lived in India, and unfortunately can't speak any of the Indian languages. I am a young professional, recently moved to Singapore, and would love to meet people of a similar background - i.e. Indians who have grown up elsewhere or have spent a significant part of their lives in another country.

I'd like to stress here that I have absolutely nothing against Indians from India, I would love to meet you all eventually, but there are too many changes taking place what with the move and new job and all that so some familiarity would be comforting:)

If you're interested, please email me at expatindianinsg@hotmail.com

girl27

Postby girl27 » Mon, 14 Mar 2005 8:37 pm

what a wanker!!
why the hell dont u grow up instead.
most of us here are away from home and our comfort zones ...why not experience new situations, emotions and enviornment etc,instead of living in your NRI cocoon.
and how reassuring that u will meet us indians from india "eventually"
again, wanker!!!

ralph

Postby ralph » Mon, 14 Mar 2005 11:37 pm

nothing wrong with wanting to meet others who are similar.

Girl27, how come you didnt call the Indonesian Chinese topic author a wanker as well for wanting to meet Indo Chinese?

I find I have a lot in common when I chat to Aussie/Western Born Chinese like myself, esp when we compare notes on our experiences with SG'ns!

blue-dragon

Postby blue-dragon » Mon, 14 Mar 2005 11:48 pm

Way to go Ralph!!!! ^_^