Singapore Expats Forum

should i accept this offer?

Discuss about getting a well paid job or career advancement. Ask about salaries, expat packages, CPF & taxes for expatriate.

edith

should i accept this offer?

Postby edith » Mon, 14 Mar 2005 5:43 pm

Came to Singapore a few months ago because of husband's job relocation. I studied in US top university (one of the top 10 in east coast) and have 5 years of front office experience in a global investment banking. I found that most of the global banks do not have their front office based out in Singapore, or presence is a lot smaller compare to HK or Japan. After months of frustration I found a job in UOB, they offer
S$9K/month, i think it's a bit low, compare to what I made in US this is like peanuts. But I would like to hear from you guys, is this a fair market number?

dot dot dot
Manager
Manager

Postby dot dot dot » Mon, 14 Mar 2005 6:19 pm

Last edited by dot dot dot on Mon, 22 May 2006 12:32 pm, edited 1 time in total.

edith

Postby edith » Mon, 14 Mar 2005 6:24 pm

It's an assistant vice president in capital markets. I'll report to head of CM and co-manage, with an experienced VP, a team of around 6 analysts. Is S$9K too low or it seems to be a fair deal? Thanks Eric.

Postby Guest » Mon, 14 Mar 2005 11:10 pm

Hi Edith,

Given the fact it is a local job, with as I understand correct local responsibilities, it is quite reasonable.

Having said that, a lot of local employers here know how to play these games very well and keep the salaries very well in control. Tough negotiators, especially the Chinese Singaporean sr. managers (assuption here, not sure you are dealing with only local Singaporeans).

9k shows respect, but its not outrageous. But try and look at the positive side: you will have your own job, life, responsibilities and overall you can do quite a bit with this amount of money.

I'd take it, for sure :wink:

Eric

dot dot dot
Manager
Manager

Postby dot dot dot » Mon, 14 Mar 2005 11:12 pm