Singapore Expats

How easy/hard would it be for me to get a job in Singapore?

Discuss about getting a well paid job or career advancement. Ask about salaries, expat packages, CPF & taxes for expatriate.
dimitrisaet

How easy/hard would it be for me to get a job in Singapore?

Post by dimitrisaet » Wed, 06 Nov 2019 7:16 pm

Hello everyone!

I just found this forum and is my first time posting here, I hope I'm not breaking any rules.

My fiance just got a great job offer in Singapore. She was going to say no because we live literally on the opposite side of the world, but I quite like the idea of moving to the opposite side of the world :) and Singapore seemed like a great place to live from what I remember when I visited a few years back, so I convinced her to put that offer on hold while I evaluate my chances of getting a decent job offer there as well.

I'm a software engineer. I have a Bachelors and a Masters, both relevant to the field and both from mid-tier european universities (greek, in case it matters) and 2 years of industry experience.

I'm not necessarily aiming for the highest-paying jobs at top corporations. I'd gladly work for a startup or a mid-sized company (actually, that is probably what I would prefer).

I'm not familiar with the IT job market in Singapore at all, so I was hopping someone here who is could give me an idea of what to expect, since it would suck to burn thousands of dollars in flights and accommodation in Singapore just to come back empty-handed. And if you have some tips to make my job hunting easier, I'll gladly take those as well.

Thanks in advance for the help!

PNGMK
Answers: 10

Re: How easy/hard would it be for me to get a job in Singapore?

Post by PNGMK » Wed, 06 Nov 2019 8:38 pm