Singapore Expats Forum

Fun with DBS points

Discuss about the latest news & interesting topics, real life experience or other out of topic discussions with locals & expatriates in Singapore.

jpatokal

Fun with DBS points

Postby jpatokal » Wed, 12 May 2004 9:59 pm

Time to firmly enshrine my reputation as a geek here -- and remember kids, I'm not spending two hours with a calculator because I really care about saving 50 cents, I'm doing this because I'm an engineer :P

So I have precisely 4484 DBS points expiring next week and I wanted to figure out the optimal way of using them. I can use 4250 for SQ's KrisFlyer miles, but that leaves a terribly awkward 234 points going to waste -- surely I can do something with them?

As it turns out, yes, I can invest 180 pts in a S$5 KFC voucher (whee). But other than that there's nothing more useful, and here's why.

As the baseline, we'll consider a return award trip to Denpasar (Bali) on SQ requires 15000 miles, which at the new 2:1 ratio needs 7500 DBS points. (It's actually even more cost-effective to buy upgrades to Raffles Class, but let's keep things simple.) In comparison, buying this on SQ costs around S$300 if you travel at the right time with the right number of people. We can thus calculate that 1250 DBS points are worth (1250/7500) * 300 = S$50... plus S$5 for the KFC voucher, for a total of S$55.

Now, 4 Cathay tickets (normal price $7.50 each) and a $10 HMV voucher would use up 1480 points, leaving only 4 left over... but providing a value of only $40, leaving me $10 poorer than simply wasting the 230 points! A quick browse through the reward catalogue shows that, in fact, there are as far as I can see no awards that provide over $40 per 1000 points of value -- and hence it always makes sense to invest in frequent flyer miles.