Relocating EP credentials

Discuss about getting a well paid job or career advancement. Ask about salaries, expat packages, CPF & taxes for expatriate.
beu_clon1980

Relocating EP credentials

Post by beu_clon1980 » Tue, 07 May 2019 10:03 pm

Hi All,

I've read most of the threads on getting a job/visa in Singapore so I'm trying not to cover old ground. I’ve also read that the job market in general has tightened significantly and I’d really appreciate people’s thoughts as I’m only starting out on this journey.

By way of background, I’m based in the UK and I've a degree, masters and ACA with 5 years strong finance experience. My plan is to apply for finance roles now and go over in July for interviews etc. My hope is to secure a job and relocate in September with my girlfriend.

Maybe I'm being naive but I think I should have a fairly decent chance of securing an EP. Although I think my girlfriend may have a harder time in securing an EP (less credentials and experience) I’d imagine she would be applying for an SP.

My queries are as follows:

What are my chances with my background in securing an EP?

Assuming I get a job, would my girlfriend have a better chance of securing an SP if she relocated with me and spent her tourist visa time (90 days) interviewing/networking etc?

Strong Eagle

Re: Relocating EP credentials

Post by Strong Eagle » Tue, 07 May 2019 11:12 pm

If you have read my posts on the subject, you know that my estimate of the probability of you getting an EP, coming in cold, are close to zero. Why should a company take the risk and expense of importing someone when local talent is available, and particularly when the government is putting thumb screws to all companies to hire local.

Ditto for your girlfriend, with even less chance.

PNGMK
Answers: 1

Post by PNGMK » Wed, 08 May 2019 12:03 pm