Singapore Expats

Converting US Bachelor's Degree to UK Equivalent

Moving to Singapore? Ask our regular expats in Singapore questions on relocation and their experience here. Ask about banking, employment pass, insurance, visa, work permit, citizenship or immigration issues.

Sponsored by:

Utrust Immigration
sonoftexas

Converting US Bachelor's Degree to UK Equivalent

Post by sonoftexas » Fri, 26 Oct 2018 11:53 am

In the government form for the Pre-marriage Assessment, it asks for your highest qualification earned. There's no option for just "Bachelor's", but it has all the Honours I, Honours II, etc. which are not used in the US. I have a Bachelor's Magna Cum Laude, GPA ~3.89. Can I just put Honours II or Honours I and be done with it?

sundaymorningstaple
Answers: 21

Re: Converting US Bachelor's Degree to UK Equivalent

Post by sundaymorningstaple » Fri, 26 Oct 2018 2:41 pm

The British Honours system is a grading system as well.....
A bachelor's degree can be an honours degree (bachelor's with honours) or an ordinary degree (bachelor's without honours). Honours degrees are classified, usually based on a weighted average (with higher weight given to marks in the later years of the course, and often zero weight to those in the first year) of the marks gained in exams and other assessments. Grade boundaries can vary by institution, but typical values are given below.

First-class honours (1st, 1 or I) – typically 70% or higher
Second-class honours;
Upper division (2:1, 2i or II-1) – typically 60–69%
Lower division (2:2, 2ii or II-2) – typically 50–59%
Third-class honours (3rd, 3 or III) – typically 40–49%
Students who do not achieve honours may be awarded an ordinary degree, sometimes known as a "pass".

The US "Cum Laude" is similar but a wee bit different...