Singapore Expats

Which job offer would you take?

Discuss about getting a well paid job or career advancement. Ask about salaries, expat packages, CPF & taxes for expatriate.
throwawaypep

Which job offer would you take?

Post by throwawaypep » Wed, 15 Aug 2018 4:07 am

I'm at a crossroads with having to decide between 2 job offers, and I'd love to hear the forum's opinion on it.

Here is my current situation: I'm a hybrid data scientist / software engineer. I work for a large finance MNC, and make around 210k all-in. I can work remote or from home for almost 100% of my time.

My job offers: The first offer is from a local bank and the other second offer is from a large American fintech firm. The base pay is 230k for both. The American firm pays a fixed, guaranteed 3-month bonus. I expect the local bank bonus to range between 3-6 months, but it is not guaranteed.

My considerations are:

1. Compensation: I can potentially make an extra 20-60k at the local bank, depending on how bonuses go. The likely scenario is that i'll make an extra 30-40k.

2. Growth prospects: My growth at the American firm will be rather limited, unless I can find other internal roles to transition to. In contrast, i'll be reporting to very senior and influential people in the local bank, and I feel that there is a lot more potential for growth in terms of promotions / pay raises at the local bank.

3. Technical skills: The job with the American firm is a lot more technical, and I will have a lot more opportunity to develop into a better, more senior engineer. In contrast, I won't really be doing much / any technical work in the local firm.

4. Work-life balance: The American firm has a culture of WFH arrangements once you have proved yourself. I'm not sure about the local firm.