Singapore Expats

Question on Drop Shipping Business

Discuss your views about Singapore business & economy, current policies & issues, starting a business in Singapore.
hendricks

Question on Drop Shipping Business

Post by hendricks » Tue, 17 Apr 2018 9:08 pm

Hi,

I am planning to start a drop shipping online e-commerce store. I have no business experience whatsoever. I have only recently started reading up on the topic online, and I am hoping to get some insight.

I am a Singapore citizen. The proposed website will be hosted overseas. My products will be shipped directly from various suppliers in China to customers all over the world, except Singapore(reason to be explained below). For receiving payments, I intend to use a payment gateway like Stripe(has presence in Singapore) or a similar company, in which payment will be deposited into my Singapore bank account.

Therefore, kindly baring in mind that apart from me managing the website from Singapore, the website itself is hosted overseas, and none of my goods will be coming into or passing through Singapore, with regards to these questions:

Am I still required to register a business in Singapore to do this? I know no license is required to operate an online store, but I am not sure if registration of a business is required.

Secondly, this question may be somewhat related to the first, and I refer to https://www.guidemesingapore.com/busine ... -tax-guide.
Tax treatment of income earned overseas
Generally, overseas income received in Singapore on or after 1 Jan 2004 is not taxable. This includes overseas income paid into a Singapore bank account. You do not need to declare overseas income that is not taxable.