Singapore Expats

switching from employment pass to starting own business

Discuss your views about Singapore business & economy, current policies & issues, starting a business in Singapore.
vah

switching from employment pass to starting own business

Post by vah » Tue, 13 Mar 2018 12:56 am

HI guys, first off, apologies if this has been asked many times previously, I tried searching but only find threads that are at least 3 years old

I have been working in Singapore for about one year under Employment Pass. Currently, I am thinking to open a business with my friend (who is a Singaporean citizen).

We have a concrete plan, it would be a retail-based business, so we will have a physical location and employ some staff. Already managed to secure capital commitments for the idea, estimating investment north of 700k at least. Also read in the previous threads that university education matters ? I have a masters degree from one of the top 10 universities in the world if that's relevant. Work experience wise, I have about 5 years of experience in total
My friend would be in the business only part time, as he has his own full time job, so merely an investor or in advisory capacity.

In this case what are my best options ? Would like to ensure that I could stay legally in Singapore to oversee this business.

thank you in advance.

Strong Eagle
Answers: 9

Re: switching from employment pass to starting own business

Post by Strong Eagle » Tue, 13 Mar 2018 1:59 am

a) Your friend starts up a private limited with ACRA and becomes its sole director.
b) You and he decide how many shares each of you will have, representing company ownership. You can have two shares or less, or more.
c) Your friend applies for EP for you to work for the company.

Your chances will be enhanced if you have relevant experience in the job for which the EP applies.