Singapore Expats

High-end step-down transformer

Discuss about computers & Internet. Including mobile phones, home appliances & other gadgets. Read about Windows security risks or virus updates.
Literata

High-end step-down transformer

Post by Literata » Sun, 31 Dec 2017 6:04 am

This is not another generic power-converter question :-)

I'm looking for a high-end 220V->110V step-down transformer (for US equipment) that is properly engineered and provides quality power output inside the ~3000W envelope. Most of the transformers found in consumer electronics stores are poorly made and sometimes outright dangerous (I'm an electrical engineer by training).

I am thinking something along the lines of a data-center quality step-down unit, maybe something like this except with 220-240V input:

https://www.amazon.com/APC-Smart-UPS-St ... B0150PY5MS

The only semi-reputable product I've found is made by APC (Schneider):

http://www.apc.com/shop/us/en/products/ ... /P-SURT003

Do folks have any recommendations? I'd prefer to spend under $2000, but if it takes more than that to get decent quality I can stretch.

I've done a search on the forum and haven't found any threads focused on high-end transformers.

Strong Eagle
Answers: 10

Re: High-end step-down transformer

Post by Strong Eagle » Sun, 31 Dec 2017 6:42 am

I'll agree with you that there is a lot of consumer grade junk out there... especially in Singapore, as imported from China... what could go wrong.

And, I agree with you, there's not much in the way of high end transformer threads because, in the end, the question becomes, "Why?"

Most folks that have moved from the USA have pretty much given up on trying to use 120 volt appliances because of the cost... or, if you're cheap, the safety issue. Is it worth it to spend $$$$ to run a high wattage appliance?

TV's aren't worth the hassle because the OTA signal is not compatible with Asia, although HDMI is OK.