Singapore Expats

PR chance for Korean-American

Relocating, travelling or planning to make Singapore home? Discuss the criterias, passes or visa that is required.
Hanmi1974

Post by Hanmi1974 » Tue, 05 Dec 2017 5:24 pm

Hi All,

After reading many of the posts, I was curious to see if nationality or ethnicity matters more for PR applications. I applied along with my wife and child about 8 months ago - still pending.

I have US citizenship but am ethnically Korean, my wife is a S. Korean national. I'm on an EP and my wife and kid (in local school) are both DP. We've been here for more than 7 years and we're both college graduates (I have a masters and my wife has a BA). Annual salary > 100K.

As we don't fall into the big 4, are our chances fairly low? I'm optimistic that since we weren't rejected right away and that I've paid many years of taxes that I'll have a decent chance

Thanks

bcheng74
Chatter
Chatter

Re: PR chance for Korean-American

Post by bcheng74 » Tue, 05 Dec 2017 7:31 pm

How did you get your US citizenship?

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Hanmi1974

Post by Hanmi1974 » Tue, 05 Dec 2017 7:49 pm

3rd generation. All of my family has been in the U.S. for years

bcheng74
Chatter
Chatter

Post by bcheng74 » Tue, 05 Dec 2017 7:53 pm

Hanmi1974 wrote:3rd generation. All of my family has been in the U.S. for years
This will be a minus for you because PR is given to people who is more likely a future SG citizen. Do you envisage yourself eventually giving up your three generation root in US and become a SC? And your race is not one of the four big races here...

That’s of course my view only. I could be wrong.

sundaymorningstaple
Answers: 21

Post by sundaymorningstaple » Tue, 05 Dec 2017 8:11 pm

Is your child a boy or girl? If a boy, it could possibly remotely help if 'he' is on the application as well. How old is the boy?