Singapore Expats

EP - To Apply or Not to Apply

Relocating, travelling or planning to make Singapore home? Discuss the criterias, passes or visa that is required.
avinashjha

EP - To Apply or Not to Apply

Post by avinashjha » Tue, 21 Nov 2017 3:03 am

Hi

I have a job offer with XXXXX Consulting Pte. Ltd.. They hired me as a Senior Consultant (I work in the field of Data Analytics with SAS/Big Data) for a project with NCS. It's an year long contract with offered salary 6000 SGD. I am an Electronics and Communication BTech graduate from a recognized Indian university with a work experience of 7 years. Presently I am working with one of the Big 4 organisation in India. My date of joining is 12th December. Also, I have another job offer based in India with date of joining as 13th December.

What are my chances of EP approval? I could have waited but considering I have to take a decision to join one of the firms, I am asking the question to experts here. if my EP pass approval chances before 10th December looks possible, only then will I accept the Singapore offer and ask the employer to file for EP.

Your comments and thoughts please.

Thanks.

SarahMW

Re: EP - To Apply or Not to Apply

Post by SarahMW » Tue, 21 Nov 2017 6:46 am

They are unlikely to process your applic before mid Dec, it's only a contract and not a permanent offer, and SG doesn't like Indians. I'm Caucasian and on a lot more than $6k and my E Pass took a month. Personally I'd accept the Indian job and then move internally later on.

Sent from my SM-G950F using Tapatalk

ecureilx
Immortal
Immortal

Post by ecureilx » Tue, 21 Nov 2017 9:10 am

SarahMW wrote:They are unlikely to process your applic before mid Dec, it's only a contract and not a permanent offer, and SG doesn't like Indians. I'm Caucasian and on a lot more than $6k and my E Pass took a month. Personally I'd accept the Indian job and then move internally later on.

SG is trying to curtail foreign influx in certain sectors.